June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

Takeover – Book Review

Lisa Black’s first novel – Takover – takes place in Cleveland and opens with the grisly murder of a man found outside of his home. Forensic scientist Theresa MacLean doesn’t have any reason to believe this will be different from any other murder she has investigated until she gets word that a hostile takeover of the Federal Reserve has occurred. To make matters worse, Theresa’s fiance Paul is one of the hostages being held. From this moment forward, the book is nonstop suspense and thrills.

Black develops her characters with a sharp eye to detail, and Theresa MacLean is a worthy heroine who uses her intelligence and courage to help uncover the secrets of the case.

Black’s professional background as a member of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences with a certification by the American Board of Criminalistics adds authenticity to her writing which is in the tradition of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell.

I liked this book for its tension and fast-paced plot. It is a quick read which kept my attention. Black left the ending open for a sequel…so I hope she is working on her second novel.

Recommended.

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.