Takeover – Book Review

Lisa Black’s first novel – Takover – takes place in Cleveland and opens with the grisly murder of a man found outside of his home. Forensic scientist Theresa MacLean doesn’t have any reason to believe this will be different from any other murder she has investigated until she gets word that a hostile takeover of the Federal Reserve has occurred. To make matters worse, Theresa’s fiance Paul is one of the hostages being held. From this moment forward, the book is nonstop suspense and thrills.

Black develops her characters with a sharp eye to detail, and Theresa MacLean is a worthy heroine who uses her intelligence and courage to help uncover the secrets of the case.

Black’s professional background as a member of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences with a certification by the American Board of Criminalistics adds authenticity to her writing which is in the tradition of Kathy Reichs and Patricia Cornwell.

I liked this book for its tension and fast-paced plot. It is a quick read which kept my attention. Black left the ending open for a sequel…so I hope she is working on her second novel.

Recommended.

Please follow and like the blue thistle
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)