Mailbox Monday – August 4, 2008

It’s Tuesday, and I’m late for Mailbox Monday because I worked 13 hours yesterday and fell into bed last night, asleep before I hit the pillow. So, I’m posting a day late – what arrived in your mailbox this week?

Here is what I got:

The Triumph of Deborah by Eva Etzioni-Halevy

Thank you to the author of this book for contacting me to read and review this book on my blog. Ms. Etzioni-Halevy is the author of two other novels – The Song of Hannah AND The Garden of Ruth. All three novels are historical fictions. The Triumph of Deborah was released by Plume in February 2008 and has received some good reviews. The product description reads:

In ancient Israel, war is looming. Deborah, a highly respected leader, has coerced the warrior Barak into launching a strike against the neighboring Canaanites. Against all odds he succeeds, returning triumphantly with Asherah and Nogah, daughters of the Canaanite King, as his prisoners. But military victory is only the beginning of the turmoil, as a complex love triangle develops between Barak and the two princesses. Deborah, recently cast off by her husband, develops a surprising affinity for Barak. Yet she struggles to rebuild her existence on her own terms, while also groping her way toward the greatest triumph of her life.

While I rarely read religious historical fiction, this one looks like it has a wider appeal. I’m looking forward to reading it.

Sweetsmoke, by David Fuller

This Advance Reader’s Edition came to me through the Library Thing Early Reviewers Program. This is Fuller’s first novel. It is due for release in September through Hyperion Books. The blurb on the back says:

In the tradition of March and The Known World, Sweetsmoke is a stunning first novel set during the Civil War, featuring an unforgettable character named Cassius, a slave working on a Virginia tobacco plantation.

Breathing Lessons, by Anne Tyler

I won this book by participating in the Bookawards I Challenge (thank you Michelle!). This is Anne Tyler’s Pulitzer Prize winning novel about Maggie and Ira who discover ‘how extraordinary their ordinary lives really are…‘ Can’t wait to read it!

That’s it for this week! Visit Marcia at The Printed Page to see what other reader’s found in their mailboxes.

Please follow and like the blue thistle

7 comments

Skip to comment form

    • Marcia on August 5, 2008 at 10:22

    Hi Wendy~

    I got your posting through my reader so I know you played today and saw you got “Sweetsmoke”. It’s one that’s already on my wishlist. I can’t wait to get your take on it.

  1. I hope that you like Sweetsmoke. I read and reviewed it last month and it was one of my favorites. I’m looking forward to your review.

    • Megan on August 5, 2008 at 17:34

    I got a copy of Sweetsmoke, too. It’s lurking here looking all tantalizing and asking me to read it, but alas, I have some other reading commitments ahead of it.

    The Triumph of Deborah sounds interesting, too. Looking forward to your reviews! =)

    • Alisia on August 6, 2008 at 06:57

    Your book arrived in my mailbox this week! I received Yummy Mummy Manifesto yesterday…thank you!!!

    • Wendy on August 6, 2008 at 08:34
      Author

    Marcia: I will hopefully be reading Sweetsmoke this month or the first week of September…

    Literate Housewife: Ohhhhh, high praise! That’s great! I’m looking forward to reading the book.

    Megan: I need to read BOTH of the books sooner rather than later! I know what you mean about other reading commitments! I have far too many!

    Alisai: YAY!!! Hope you’ll enjoy it 🙂

    • Andi on August 6, 2008 at 10:41

    Yay for new books! Nothing better.

    • Wendy on August 8, 2008 at 09:51
      Author

    Andi: I totally agree!

Comments have been disabled.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)