August 2008 archive

Book Blogger Appreciation Week – September 15-19, 2008

September 15-19, 2008 My Friend Amy is hosting a very special acknowledgement of Book Bloggers. She writes: Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Acknowledging the hard work of book bloggers and their growing impact on book marketing and their essential contribution to book buzz in general, I am excited to announce the first Book Blogger Appreciation Week. …

Continue reading

Sunday Salon – August 24, 2008

August 24, 2008 12:30 PM Another gorgeous Sunday in Northern California finds me reading some wonderful literature. Yesterday my husband and I took advantage of the warm weather and went for a five mile hike in Lassen National Volcanic Park. The views were magnificent and the peace we found walking among the scrub pines and …

Continue reading

An Ex-Mas Feast, by Uwem Akpan – Short Story Review

The sun had gone down on Ex-mas evening. Bad weather had stormed the seasons out of order, and Nairobi sat in a low flood, the light December rain droning on our tarpaulin roof. I was sitting on the floor of our shack, which stood on a cement slab at the end of an alley, leaning …

Continue reading

Friday Finds – August 22, 2008

August 22, 2008 My book finds come from multiple sources. Last Saturday I attended a wedding and found myself seated next to a woman who loved books as much as I do. We spent a good part of the reception comparing books and she recommended one in particular that looks fascinating: Skeletons of the Zahara, …

Continue reading

Blog Give-Away – SWEETSMOKE, by David Fuller

Release Date: August 27, 2008 In the tradition of March and The Known World, Sweetsmoke is a stunning first novel set during the Civil War, featuring an unforgettable character named Cassius, a slave working on a Virgina tobacco plantation. -From Hyperion Books- Thanks to Hyperion Books AND author David Fuller, I am hosting a giveaway …

Continue reading

Sweetsmoke – Book Review

He believed he had already lived long enough. He thought he was over the age of thirty – Jacob Howard was thirty, and they had been born around the same time – and Cassius looked that and more. He now studied the land as if he would never see it again, and tried to memorize …

Continue reading

Mailbox Monday – August 18, 2008

I love finding books in my mailbox (or arriving in the back of a UPS truck). Here’s what showed up last week: Interpreter of Maladies AND Unaccustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri I’ve been hearing about Lahiri’s work for a while now and these two collections come highly recommended. I’m lucky that I have bookish friends …

Continue reading

Taking Stock – Reading 2008

With 4.5 months left in 2008, I thought it would be a good idea to re-evaluate my reading goals and take stock of where I am and where I want to go. I’m already thinking ahead to 2009 and have made one major decision regarding my reading: not to join so many challenges and be …

Continue reading

Index Librorum Liberorum Challenge

September 1, 2007 – August 31, 2008

Imani over at The Books of My Numberless Dreams has come up with an intriguing challenge…to read books banned and censored by the Roman Catholic Church.

Ideally, I would read the actual books banned, but Imani is being a bit loose with the rules and allowing participants to read any book by a banned or censored author. There are no specific number of books to be read, but the challenge runs for a year…so I’ve picked six. Participants must read books from a minimum of three countries. There is a participant blog for all those readers taking up the challenge. I’m looking forward to seeing other reader’s lists and reading their reviews! Should make for some interesting discussion.

So without further preamble, here are my list of books for this challenge:

1. The Power and the Glory, by Graham Greene (Mexico)
2. The Woman of Rome, by Albert Moravia (Italy)
3. Consuelo, by George Sand (Austria, Italy and Bohemia)
4. The Toilers of the Sea, by Victor Hugo (Channel Islands)
5. Moll Flanders, by Daniel Defoe (England)
6. Candide, by Voltaire (Multiple countries) – Completed December 30, 2007; rated 4.5/5; read my review.

Sunday Salon – August 17, 2008

August 17, 2008 10:00AM Another Sunday, another week. My days have been very hectic of late with lots of work, a search and rescue call-out on Wednesday, and the Olympics (I was so thrilled last night to see Michael Phelps win his 8th Gold Medal of the games, AND Dara Torres astonishing come-back with two …

Continue reading

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)