April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

Mailbox Monday – April 2, 2012

Welcome to this week’s edition of Mailbox Monday hosted this month by Cindy at Cindy’s Love of Books.

Go to the dedicated blog for the meme to see the complete tour schedule in the left hand sidebar.

Some interesting books arrived at my house this week:

Make It Stay by Joan Frank (April 28, 2012) arrived from Permanent Press for a TLC Book Tourin May. In a Northern California town, writer Rachel (Rae) and her Scottish husband Neil prepare dinner for a familiar “crew” of guests – among them Neil’s best friend, Mike Spender, an irrepressible hedonist – and Mike’s wife, Tilda Krall, a hard-bitten figure who carries her dark unknowability like an accusation. Mike and Tilda’s daughter, Addie – who will also appear, unexpectedly, that night.  As they ready the meal, Rae begs Neil to retell her the strange story of the Spenders – to include Mike’s secret life, and what happened once Tilda learned of it.  Neil and Rae cannot guess how the shock waves from that story will threaten to destroy their own marriage – after a mysterious catastrophe propels all five individuals into uncharted realities.

Joan Frank was born to New Yorkers in Phoenix, Arizona, and grew up in Sacramento, Hawaii, and the San Francisco Bay Area. She is the author of four books of fiction prior to this latest effort. A book of collected essays, Because You Have To: A Writing Life, will be published by the University of Notre Dame Press in Fall of 2012. Her recent story collection, In Envy Country, won the ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year award and the Richard Sullivan Prize in Short Fiction; it was also named a finalist for the California Book Award. Joan Frank is a MacDowell Colony Fellow, winner of the Dana Literary Award, Michigan Literary Fiction Award, Emrys Fiction Award and Iowa Writing Award; a Pushcart Prize nominee, two-time nominee for the Northern California Book Award in Fiction, San Francisco Library Literary Laureate, and recipient of grants from the Ludwig Vogelstein Foundation, Barbara Deming Memorial Fund, and Sonoma Arts Council. She has taught creative writing at San Francisco State University and continues to teach and edit in private consultation. She lives in Northern California with her husband. Learn more about Joan Frank and her work by visiting the author’s website.

The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers found its way to my doorstep through BOOK CLUB (Harper Perennial, May 2012). This book will be discussed on Nicole’s blog on April 24th.

From the publisher: In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism. The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will make The Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man.

Jane Rogers has written eight novels, including Her Living Image (winner of the Somerset Maugham Award), Mr. Wroe’s Virgins (a Guardian Fiction Prize runner-up), Promised Lands (winner of the Writers’ Guild Award for Best Fiction Book), Island (longlisted for the Orange Prize) and The Voyage Home. She has written drama for radio and TV, including an award-winning adaptation of Mr. Wroe’s Virgins for BBC2. She has taught writing at the University of Adelaide, at Paris Sorbonne IV and on a radio-writing project in eastern Uganda. She is professor of writing at Sheffield Hallam University and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. She lives on the edge of the moors in Lancashire, England. Learn more about Rogers and her work by visiting the author’s website.

Pantheon Books sent me a finished copy of The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection which is the latest installment of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith (April 3, 2012). Here the kindest and best detective in Botswana faces a tricky situation when her personal and professional lives become entangled.

From the Publisher: Precious Ramotswe is haunted by a repeated dream: a vision of a tall, strange man who waits for her beneath an acacia tree. Odd as this is, she’s far too busy to worry about it. The best apprentice at Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors is in trouble with the law and stuck with the worst lawyer in Gaborone. Grace Makutsi and Phuti Radiphuti are building the house of their dreams, but their builder is not completely on the up and up. And, most shockingly, Mma Potokwane, defender of Botswana’s weak and downtrodden, has been dismissed from her post as matron at the orphan farm. Can the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency help restore the beloved matron to her rightful position?

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of the beloved bestselling No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Isabel Dalhousie series, the Portuguese Irregular Verbs series, the 44 Scotland Street series, and the Corduroy Mansions series. He is also the author of numerous children’s books. He is professor emeritus of medical law at the University of Edinburgh and has served with many national and international organizations concerned with bioethics. He was born in what is now known as Zimbabwe and taught law at the University of Botswana. He lives in Scotland. Learn more about Smith and his work by visiting the author’s website.

Did any wonderful books arrive at YOUR house this week?

8 Comments

  1. April 2, 2012    

    I have been hearing alot of good things about Alexander’s books. I think I might have to pick one up and check it out. Enjoy your books and thanks for leaving your link. Lookign forward to reading your blog.

  2. April 2, 2012    

    Make It Stay looks interesting. I’ll watch for the tour reviews. Have a great week!

  3. April 2, 2012    

    All of your books look interesting. I hope you love them!

  4. April 3, 2012    

    I got Make It Stay as well. Looks like a good one!

  5. April 3, 2012    

    Great books in that mailbox this week! I am hoping to read the Jessie Lamb book.

  6. April 3, 2012    

    Make It Stay sounds like a good read

  7. April 3, 2012    

    I love the cover of The Testament of Jessie Lamb. Happy reading!

  8. April 8, 2012    

    Thanks all for dropping by this week!

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.