September 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

2008 in Review

2008 Books in Review

By the Numbers:

Number of Books Read: 101
Women Authors: 62
Male Authors: 39
New to Me In 2008 Authors: 79
Average Books Read Per Month: 8.4
Number of Pages Read: 31,491
Average Number of Pages Read per MONTH: 2624
Average Number of Pages Read per BOOK: 312
Least Productive Month by Number of Books: November (6 books)
Least Productive Month by Number of Pages: December (1832 pages)
Most Productive Month by Number of Books: June (11 books)
Most Productive Month by Number of Pages: June (3548 pages)
Longest Book I Read: The Winter Rose, by Jennifer Donnelly (707 pages)
The Shortest Book I Read: Gift From the Sea, by Anne Morrow Lindbergh (138 pages)

Books Read by Rating:

5stars = 24
4hStars = 28
4Stars = 27
3hstars = 12
3stars = 4
2hstars = 1
2stars = 3
1hstars = 1
1star =  2 (DNF)

Books by the Genre:

Non Fiction: 11

Memoirs: 6
Inspirational: 1
Adventure/Travel: 2
Historical/Social: 2

Fiction: 90

Short Story Collections 4
Historical Fiction 23
Crime/Suspense/Mystery 9
Young Adult 2
Gothic 5
Contemporary 16
Classic 9
Literary 13
Chick Lit 9

Short Stories:

Collections 4
Single Stories 8

Banned Books: 4

Books From Around the World:

Asia 3
Europe 14
Africa 5
Australia/Oceania 3
North America 1
South America 0

The Award Winners:

Pulitzer Winners: 2
Booker Winners: 5
Nobels: 3 Books representing 3 authors
Orange Prize Winners and Nominees: 7
Costa Book Award Winners: 4
National Book Award Winners and Nominees: 1

Reading Challenges Completed in 2008: 24

Winter Reading 2008 (2/29/2008)
Unread Authors (2/22/2008)
The Pub 2008 (3/14/2008)
Book Awards 2007 (5/24/2008)
Remembering Nattie (5/31/2008)
Book Binge 2008 (5/31/2008)
Themed Reading 2008 (5/31/2008)
48 Hour Reading Challenge (6/8/2008)
Man Booker Challenge (6/17/2008)
24 Hour Read-A-Thon (6/29/2008)
Chunkster Challenge (7/29/2008)
ARC Challenge (7/29/2008)
Chick Lit (8/29/2008)
Well-Rounded (8/29/2008)
October 24 Hour Read-A-Thon (10/18/2008)
Kate’s Short Story Challenge (10/23/2008)
In Their Shoes Challenge (10/24/2008)
A Novel Challenge Mini Challenges (10/29/2008)
Decades 2008 (11/7/2008)
Notable Books (11/8/2008)
Every Month is a Holiday (12/10/2008)
Celebrate the Author Challenge (12/15/2008)
1% Well-Read Challenge (12/25/2008)
100+ Reading Challenge (12/31/2008)

Free Books:

2008 Advance Reader’s Editions (AREs) received in 2008: 40
2008 ARE’s received which I reviewed in 2008: 31
2008 Review Copies (finished copies) received in 2008: 37
2008 Review Copies which I reviewed in 2008: 17

2009 Advance Reader’s Editions (AREs) received in 2008: 16
2009 AREs
received which I reviewed in 2008: 1
2009 Review Copies (finished copies) received in 2008: 1
2009 Review Copies which I reviewed in 2008: 0

Most Generous Publishers for free Books:

Random House (12)
Little Brown and Company (10)
Ballantine (7)
Hyperion (6)
Riverhead (6)
Harper Collins (6)

Number of Books received through LT Early Reviewers: 9
Number of Books received through B&N First Look: 4
Number of Books received through Harper Collins First Look: 2

The Best of 2008:

Best Women’s Fiction: The Year of Fog, by Michelle Richmond
Best Historical Fiction: tie between The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, Guernica by Dave Bolling, People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks, The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver, The Colour by Rose Tremain, The Secret River by Kate Grenville, Music and Silence by Rose Tremain,  and The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway
Best Non Fiction: An Exact Replica of A Figment of My Imagination, by Elizabeth McCracken
Best Literary Fiction: Songs for the Missing, by Stewart O’Nan
Best Contemporary Fiction: The Angle of Repose, by Wallace Stegner
Best Classic Fiction: So Big, by Edna Ferber
Best Gothic Fiction: Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Compared to 2007:

I read:

6 more books
697 more pages
23 more New to me authors

I completed:

11 more challenges

I received:

85 more free books

************************

The following are books read in 2008, with ratings and links to reviews. Books are rated as follows:

stars5.gif = Amazing, highly recommended, a must read
stars4.gif = Very good/good, recommended
stars3.gif = Okay, some people might like it
stars2.gif = Didn’t like it, weak writing, not recommended
stars1.gif = Hated it, don’t waste your time

January 2008

giver.jpg winter-rose.jpg houseatriverton.jpg reluctantfundamentalist.jpg haveyoufoundher.jpg sobig.jpg charlesdickens.jpg ghostwritten.jpg
I read 8 novels in January – 7 fiction, 1 memoir – AND one short story. The novels had an average rating of 4.25 and a total number of pages of 2863 (average of 358 pages per novel). My least favorite read was Great Expectations. My most favorite read was a tie between So Big AND Ghostwritten. All authors read this month, except for Dickens and Mitchell, were new to me authors.

1. The Giver, by Lois Lowry

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 179
Read for: Bookawards Yahoo Group, Bookawards Challenge, Decades Challenge 2008, Mostly Books Yahoo Group Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND A Novel Challenge Yahoo group (mini challenge)
Started: December 31, 2007
Finished: January 1, 2008
Read my review.

2. The Winter Rose, by Jennifer Donnelly

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 707
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, The Pub Challenge, AND Library Thing Early Review Program
Started: January 1, 2008
Finished: January 5, 2008
Read my review.

3. The House at Riverton, by Kate Morton

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 473
Read for: The Pub Challenge, A Novel Challenge Yahoo group (mini challenge) AND Early review copy for Barnes and Noble First Look Program
Started: January 5, 2008
Finished: January 9, 2008
Read my review.

4. The Reluctant Fundamentalist, by Mohsin Hamid

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 184
Read for: Reading the World (Asia), 888 Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, 21st Fiction Yahoo Group, AND Man Booker Challenge
Started: January 9, 2008
Finished: January 11, 2008
Read my review.

5. Have You Found Her: A Memoir, by Janice Erlbaum

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 342
Read for: The Pub Challenge, In Their Shoes Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND Early review for Random House
Started: January 11, 2008
Finished: January 14, 2008
Read my review.

6. So Big, by Edna Ferber

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 252
Read for: Pulitzer Project, Bookawards Challenge, 888 Challenge, Decades Challenge 2008, Pulitzer Yahoo Group, 20th Century World Lit Yahoo Group, Thematic Classic Challenge Yahoo Group, AND Every Month is a Holiday Challenge (celebration of life)
Started: January 14, 2008
Finished: January 17, 2007
Read my review.

7. Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens (from the collection: Charles Dickens Complete and Unabridged, Five Novels – Barnes and Nobel Essential Writers)

Rated: stars3.gif
Number of Pages: 300
Read for: My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, 888 Challenge, Decades Challenge 2008, AND A Novel Challenge Yahoo group mini challenge
Started: January 17, 2008
Finished: January 25, 2008
Read my review.

8. Ghostwritten, by David Mitchell

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 426
Read for: 20th Century World Lit Yahoo Group, AND Celebrate the Author Challenge
Started: January 26, 2008
Finished: January 30, 2008
Read my review.

February 2008

outcast.jpg theftofmaster.jpg nightwatch.jpg translatordarfur.jpg lifetimesmichaelk.jpg alentejoblue.jpg song-of-solomon.jpg catseye.jpg
I read 8 novels in February – 7 fiction, and 1 memoir – with an average rating of 4.25. I read a total of 2554 pages (average of 319 pages per novel). My favorite read of the month was the memoir by Daoud Hari. New authors for me this month included Sadie Jones, Edwin Alexander, Sarah Waters, Daoud Hari, Monica Ali, and Toni Morrison. I would read novels by all these authors again.

9. The Outcast, by Sadie Jones

Rated: stars3h.gif
Number of Pages: 345
Read for: Harper Collins First Look Program, The Costa Book Award Project, AND The Pub Challenge
Started: February 1, 2008
Finished: February 3, 2008
Read my review.

10. Theft of the Master, by Edwin Alexander

Rated: stars3h.gif
Number of Pages: 288
Read for: Early Review for Garev Publishing International
Started: February 3, 2008
Finished: February 6, 2008
Read my review.

11. The Night Watch, by Sarah Waters

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 524
Read for: Unread Authors Challenge, Man Booker Challenge, AND Orange Prize Project
Started: February 6, 2008
Finished: February 12. 2008
Read my review.

12. The Translator: A Tribesman’s Memoir of Darfur, by Daoud Hari

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 189
Read for: Library Thing’s Early Review Program, The Pub Challenge, Africa Reading Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND Reading the World (Africa)
Started: February 13, 2008
Finished: February 15, 2008
Read my review.

13. Life and Times of Michael K, by J.M. Coetzee

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 184
Read for: Complete Booker, Reading the Nobels, 888 Challenge, Africa Reading Challenge, Man Booker Challenge, Bookawards Challenge, Booker Prize Yahoo Group, Bookawards Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Africa), Celebrate the Author Challenge, AND A Novel Challenge Yahoo group (mini challenge)
Started: February 15, 2008
Finished: February 17, 2008
Read my review.

14. Alentejo Blue, by Monica Ali

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of pages: 226
Read for: Unread Authors Challenge, 888 Challenge AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: February 18, 2008
Finished: February 22, 2008
Read my review.

15. Song of Solomon, by Toni Morrison

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of pages: 337
Read for: Banned Books Yahoo group, Reading the Nobels, Every Month is a Holiday Challenge (Black History Month), My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, A Novel Challenge Yahoo group (mini challenge), Thematic Classic Challenge Yahoo Group AND 888 Challenge
Started: February 22, 2008
Finished February 25, 2008
Read my review.

16. Cat’s Eye, by Margaret Atwood

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of pages: 461
Read for: My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, Winter Reading Challenge, Decades Challenge 2008, AND Man Booker Challenge
Started: February 25, 2008
Finished: February 29, 2008
Read my review.

March 2008

resistance.jpg The Gathering Story Of Forgetting secretscroll.jpg uncletomscabin02.jpg belongtome.jpg jackfish.jpg embers.jpg

I read 8 novels in March – all fiction – with an average rating of 4.1. I read a total of 2426 pages (average of 303 pages per novel). My favorite read of the month was Belong To Me. All of the books read this month were by authors new to me.

17. Resistance, by Owen Sheers

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 256
Read for: The Pub Challenge, AND early review for Doubleday
Started: March 1, 2008
Finished: March 6, 2008
Read my review.

18. The Gathering, by Anne Enright

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 261
Read for: Thematic Classics Challenges Yahoo Group, Bookies Too Yahoo Group, Bookawards Yahoo Group, Bookawards Challenge, Booker Prize Yahoo Group, Every Month is a Holiday Challenge (Irish-American Month), Man Booker Challenge, Complete Booker, Notable Books Challenge, AND 888 Challenge
Started: March 7, 2008
Finished: March 9, 2008
Read my review.

19. The Story of Forgetting, by Stefan Merrill Block

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 311
Read for: The Pub Challenge, AND early review for Random House
Started: March 10, 2008
Finished: March 14, 2008
Read my review.

20. The Secret Scroll, by Ronald Cutler

Rated: stars2.gif
Number of Pages: 330
Read for: Suspense-Thriller Challenge, AND Early review for Beaufort Books
Started: March 15, 2008
Finished: March 16 , 2008
Read my review.

21. Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 446
Read for: Banned Books Yahoo group
Started: March 16, 2008
Finished: March 21 , 2008
Read my review.

22. Belong to Me, by Marisa de los Santos

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 388
Read for: Harper Collins Early Review
Started: March 22, 2008
Finished: March 26, 2008
Read my review.

23. Jackfish The Vanishing Village, by Sarah Felix Burns

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 221
Read for: Review for Inanna Publications, AND Piker Press.
Started: March 26, 2008
Finished: March 29, 2008
Read my review.

24. Embers, by Sandor Marai

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 213
Read for: Books in Translation Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Europe), TBR 2008 Challenge, AND Decades Challenge 2008.
Started: March 29, 2008
Finished: March 30, 2008
Read my review.

April 2008

olivekitteridge.jpg tendernessofwolves.jpg sister.jpg cellistofsarajevo.jpg angleofrepose.jpg lacereader.jpg lostfound.jpg worldbelow.jpg

I read 8 novels in April – all fiction – with an average rating of 4.4, and a total of 2642 pages (average of 330 pages per novel). My favorite read of the month was a tie between The Cellist of Sarajevo and Angle of Repose. All of the books read this month were by authors new to me, EXCEPT for Sue Miller. In addition to my novel reading, I also completed a short story by Haruki Murakumi.

25. Olive Kitteridge, by Elizabeth Strout

Rated: stars4.gif
Number of Pages: 270
Read for: Early review for Random House
Started: March 31, 2008
Finished: April 2, 2008
Read my review.

26. The Tenderness of Wolves, by Stef Penney

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 371
Read for: 21st Fiction Yahoo Group, The Costa Book Award Project, Bookawards Challenge, AND Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: April 2, 2008
Finished: April 5, 2008
Read my review.

27. The Sister, by Poppy Adams

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 275
Read for: Barnes and Noble First Look Program, AND Science in Fiction Challenge
Started: April 6, 2008
Finished: April 7, 2008
Read my review.

28. The Cellist of Sarajevo, by Steven Galloway

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 231
Read For: Reading the World (Europe), Early Review for Riverhead Books, AND Every Month is a Holiday Challenge
Started: April 8, 2008
Finished: April 10, 2008
Read my review.

29. Angle of Repose, by Wallace Stegner

Rated: stars5.gif
Number of Pages: 557
Read for: Bookawards Yahoo Group, Bookawards Challenge, Decades Challenge 2008, Pulitzer Project, Pulitzer Yahoo Group, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, AND 888 Challenge
Started: April 11, 2008
Finished: April 17, 2008
Read my review.

30. The Lace Reader, by Brunonia Barry

Rated: stars3h.gif
Number of Pages: 385
Read for: Early Review for William Morrow (Harper Collins)
Started: April 18, 2008
Finished: April 20, 2008
Read my review.

31. Lost & Found, by Jacqueline Sheehan

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 278
Read for: Themed Challenge, AND 888 Challenge
Started: April 20, 2008
Finished: April 21, 2008
Read my review.

32. The World Below, by Sue Miller

Rated: stars3h.gif
Number of Pages: 275
Read for: Themed Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND TBR 2008 Challenge
Started: April 21, 2008
Finished: April 26, 2008
Read my review.

May 2008

independentpeople.jpg zookeeperswife.jpg

I read 8 books in May with an average rating of 4.1. I read 2668 pages (average of 334 pages per novel). My favorite read was Songs for the Missing. I also read 2 short stories. New to me authors this month were Halldor Laxness, Diane Ackerman, Katherine Center, Firoozeh Dumas, and Stewart O’Nan.

33. Independent People, by Halldor Laxness

Rated: stars4h.gif
Number of Pages: 482
Read for: Books in Translation Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Europe), Read the Nobels Challenge, 888 Challenge, Decades Challenge 2008, Celebrate the Author Challenge, AND 1% Well-Read Challenge
Started: April 26, 2008
Finished: May 5, 2008
Read my review.

34. The Zookeeper’s Wife, by Diane Ackerman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 323
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, In Their Shoes Challenge, AND Reading The World (Europe)
Started: May 6, 2008
Finished: May 12, 2008
Read my review.

35. The Bright Side Of Disaster, by Katherine Center

Rated:
Number of Pages: 245
Read for: Review for Random House Publishing Group, AND Thinking Of Nat Challenge
Started: May 13, 2008
Finished: May 14, 2008
Read my review.

36. Laughing Without An Accent, by Firoozeh Dumas

Rated:
Number of Pages: 223
Read For: Early Review (Villard Books), Reading The World (Asia), 888 Challenge, AND In Their Shoes Challenge
Started: May 15, 2008
Finished: May 17, 2008
Read my review.

37. Nineteen Minutes, by Jodi Picoult

Rated:
Number of Pages: 455
Read for: Themed Reading Challenge, Every Month Is a Holiday Challenge, AND Celebrate the Author Challenge
Started: May 17, 2008
Finished: May 21, 2008
Read my review.

38. Other Voices Other Rooms, by Truman Capote

Rated:
Number of Pages: 231
Read for: My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge
Started: May 22, 2008
Finished: May 25, 2008
Read my review.

39. Songs For The Missing, by Stewart O’Nan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 287
Read For: Early Review B&N First Look Book Club
Started: May 25, 2008
Finished: May 27, 2008
Read my review.

40. Before You Know Kindness, by Chris Bohjalian

Rated:
Number of Pages: 422
Read for: Themed Reading Challenge AND 888 Challenge
Started: May 28, 2008
Finished: May 31, 2008
Read my review.

June 2008

June was a terrific month for me. I read 11 books (with an average rating of 3.9/5 ) and one individual short story. I read 3548 pages (average of 323 pages per book). My favorite read was The Wednesday Sisters; my least favorite was Comfort Food. All were new to me authors except for Khaled Hosseini. I participated in two Read-A-Thons this month which really helped boost my numbers.

41. Bridge of Sighs, by Richard Russo

Rated:
Number of Pages: 528
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, Chunkster Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND Every Month is a Holiday (Father’s Day)
Started: June 1, 2008
Finished: June 7, 2008
Read my review.

42. Takeover, by Lisa Black

Rated:
Number of Pages: 337
Read for: Harper Collins First Look Program, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, and Summer Reading Challenge
Started: June 7, 2008
Finished: June 8, 2008
Read my review.

43. The Wednesday Sisters, by Meg Waite Clayton

Rated:
Number of pages: 284
Read for: Early Review (Ballantine Books), Chick Lit Challenge, AND Summer Reading Challenge
Started: June 8, 2008
Finished: June 10, 2008
Read my review.

44. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini

Rated:
Number of pages: 371
Read for: Banned Books Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Asia), AND 888 Challenge
Started: June 10, 2008
Finished: June 13. 2008
Read my review.

45. Atonement, by Ian McEwan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 351
Read for: Man Booker Challenge, 888 Challenge, Celebrate the Author Challenge, 1% Well Read Challenge, and 10 out of 100 Challenge
Started: June 14, 2008
Finished: June 17, 2008
Read my review.

46. Home of the Gentry, by Ivan Turgenev

Rated:
Number of Pages: 203
Read for: Russian Reading Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND Decades Challenge
Started: June 17, 2008
Finished: June June 19, 2008
Read my review.

47. Life of Pi, by Yann Martel

Rated:
Number of Pages: 319
Read for: Bookawards Yahoo Group, Complete Booker Challenge, 888 Challenge, 10 out of 100 Challenge, AND 1% Well Read Challenge
Started: June 20, 2008
Finished: June 23, 2008
Read my review.

48. Comfort Food, by Kate Jacobs

Rated:
Number of Pages: 333
Read for: Early Review (Penguin), ARC Challenge, AND Summer Reading Challenge
Started: June 24, 2008
Finished: June 25, 2008
Read my review.

49. The House at Midnight, by Lucie Whitehouse

Rated:
Number of Page: 320
Read for: Early Review (Ballantine Books), ARC Challenge, and Summer Reading Challenge
Started: June 26, 2008
Finished: June 28, 2008
Read my review.

50. Springtime on Mars, by Susan Woodring

Rated:
Number of Pages: 177
Read for: Short Story Challenge
Started: June 28, 2008
Finished: June 28, 2008
Read my review.

51. Down River, by John Hart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 325
Read for: Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: June 29, 2008
Finished: June 29, 2008
Read my review.

July 2008

I read 7.5 novels in July (with an average rating of 4.3 and one individual short story. I read 2367 pages (an average of 296 pages per book). My favorite read was a tie between People of the Book, The Poisonwood Bible and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. These were all outstanding books which I highly recommend. My least favorite book was The Island of Eternal Love, which I ended up not finishing. Seven of the eight books I read were written by new-to-me authors this month.

52. People of the Book, by Geraldine Brooks

Rated:
Number of Pages: 368
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, Science in Fiction Project, 888 Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), July Book Blowout, AND Well-Rounded Challenge
Started: July 1, 2008
Finished: July 4, 2008
Read my review.

53. The Poisonwood Bible, by Barbara Kingsolver

Rated:
Number of Pages: 543
Read for: Reading the World (Africa), TBR 2008 Challenge, 2008 Decades Challenge, Orange Prize Project, 1% Well Read Challenge, 10 out of 100 Challenge, July Book BlowoutWell-Rounded Challenge, Every Month is a Holiday Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: July 5, 2008
Finished: July 12, 2008
Read my review.

54. The White Mary, by Kira Salak

Rated:
Number of Pages: 351
Read for: Early Review (Henry Holt and Company), Reading the World (Oceania), 888 Challenge, and the ARC Reading Challenge
Started: July 12, 2008
Finished: July 16, 2008
Read my review.

55.  The Island of Eternal Love, by Daina Chaviano

Rated: unrated (DNF)
Number of Pages: 315 (read 110 pages)
Read for: Early Review (Riverhead), Summer Reading Challenge, and ARC Reading Challenge
Started: July 16, 2008
Finished: July 19, 2008 (DNF)
Read my review.

56.  Hotel Du Lac, by Anita Brookner

Rated:
Number of Pages: 184
Read for: The Complete Booker, Celebrate the Author Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), 888 Challenge, AND the Well-Rounded Challenge
Started: July 20, 2008
Finished: July 22, 2008
Read my review.

57.  The 19th Wife, by David Ebershoff

Rated:
Number of Pages: 579
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviewers Program, ARC Reading Challenge, Summer Reading Challenge, AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: July 23, 2008
Finished: July 28, 2008
Read my review.

58.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Rated:
Number of Pages: 274
Read for: Early review (Bantam Dell), Summer Reading Challenge AND ARC Reading Challenge
Started: July 29, 2008
Finished: July 31, 2008
Read my review.

59.  Leftovers, by Laura Weiss

Rated:
Number of Pages: 232
Read for: A Well-Rounded Challenge, ARC Challenge, AND My Year of Living Dangerously Challenge
Started: July 31, 2008
Finished: July 31, 2008
Read my review.

August 2008

I read 10 books in August (with an average rating of 4.2).  I read 2507 pages (an average of 251 pages per book). My favorite read was a tie between The Colour, and Maus I and II. These were all outstanding books which I highly recommend. My least favorite book was The Reader, which I only finished because it was for a group read.  I read seven new-to-me authors this month.

60.  Rules for Saying Goodbye, by Katherine Taylor

Rated:
Number of Pages: 311
Read for: Review copy (Picador), ARC Challenge, AND Chick Lit Challenge
Started: August 1, 2008
Finished: August 4, 2008
Read my review.

61.  Crossing the River, by Caryl Phillips

Rated:
Number of Pages: 237
Read for: 20th Century World Literature Yahoo Group, The Well-Rounded Challenge, AND Every Month is A Holiday Challenge
Started: August 5, 2008
Finished: August 7, 2008
Read my review.

62.  The Map Thief, by Heather Terrell

Rated:
Number of pages: 246
Read for: Suspense-Thriller Challenge, ARC Challenge, and Early Review (Ballantine AND Authors on the Web)
Started: August 7, 2008
Finished: August 9, 2008
Read my review.

63.  On Chesil Beach, by Ian McEwan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 203
Read for: Notable Books Challenge, AND  21st Fiction Yahoo Group
Started: August 9, 2008
Finished: August 10, 2008
Read my review.

64.  The Reader, by Bernhard Schlink

Rated:
Number of Pages: 218
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, 888 Challenge, AND 1% Well-Read Challenge
Started: August 11, 2008
Finished: August 15, 2008
Read my review.

65.  Sweetsmoke, by David Fuller

Rated:
Number of Pages: 308
Read for: Early review at Library Thing, AND ARC Challenge
Started: August 16, 2008
Finished: August 20, 2008
Read my review.

66.  The Colour, by Rose Tremain

Rated:
Number of Pages: 382
Read for: Read the World (Australia/Oceania), Celebrate the Author Challenge888 Challenge, 1% Well-Read Challenge, 10 out of 100 Challenge, Unread Authors Challenge, Well-Rounded Challenge, Orange Prize Project, AND The Orange Prize Project Yahoo Group
Started: August 21, 2008
Finished: August 25, 2008
Read my review.

67.  Love Walked In, by Marisa de los Santos

Rated:
Number of Pages: 307
Read for: Chick Lit Challenge AND Well-Rounded Challenge
Started: August 26, 2008
Finished: August 29, 2008
Read my review.

68.  Maus I: My Father Bleeds History, by Art Spiegelman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 159
Read for: Bookawards II Challenge AND My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge
Started: August 30, 2008
Finished: August 30, 2008
Read my review.

69.  Maus II: And Here My Troubles Begin, by Art Spiegelman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 136
Read for: Bookawards II Challenge AND My Year of Living Dangerously Challenge
Started: August 31, 2008
Finished: August 31, 2008
Read my review.

September 2008

I read 9 books in September (with an average rating of 3.9).  I read 2834 pages (an average of 315 pages per book). My favorite read was a tie between Guernica, closely followed by The Heretic’s Daughter. My least favorite book was The Triumph of Deborah.  All books this month were written by new-to-me authors.

70.  Sarah’s Key, by Tatiana de Rosnay

Rated:
Number of Pages: 293
Read for: Reading the World (Europe), ARC Challenge, Early Review for Library Thing, AND Every Month is a Holiday Challenge
Started: September 1, 2008
Finished: September 2, 2008
Read my review.

71.  House and Home, by Kathleen McCleary

Rated:
Number of Pages: 259
Read for: ARC Challenge, AND Book Tour for TLC Book Tours
Started: September 3, 2008
Finished: September 6, 2008
Read my review.

72.  The Heretic’s Daughter, by Kathleen Kent

Rated:
Number of Pages: 332
Read for: ARC Challenge, AND Early Review for Little, Brown and Company
Started: September 6, 2008
Finished: September 9, 2008
Read my review.

73. Guernica, by Dave Boling

Rated:
Number of Pages: 367
Read for: Reading the World Challenge (Europe), ARC Challenge, AND Early Review for Bloomsbury
Started: September 10, 2008
Finished: September 14, 2008
Read my review.

74.  Ships Without A Shore, by Anne R. Pierce

Rated:
Number of Pages: 258
Read for: ARC Challenge, AND Review for Transaction
Started: September 13, 2008
Finished: September 16, 2008
Read my review.

75.  The View From Castle Rock, by Alice Munro

Rated:
Number of Pages: 349
Read for: Notable Books ChallengeShort Story Reading Challenge, Unread Authors Challenge, AND The Book Place Yahoo Group
Started: July 26, 2008
Finished: September 26, 2008
Read my review.

76.  A Garden of Earthly Delights, by Joyce Carol Oates

Rated:
Number of Pages: 395
Read for: The Orange Prize Project Yahoo Group, 2008 Decades Challenge, AND The National Book Award Project
Started: September 15, 2008
Finished: September 22, 2008
Read my review.

77.  The Triumph of Deborah, by Eva Etzioni-Halevy

Rated:
Number of Pages: 355
Read for: Review copy (Penguin – PLUME)
Started: September 23, 2008
Finished: Sepetember 29, 2008
Read my review.

78.  Let The Northern Lights Erase Your Name, by Vendela Vida

Rated:
Number of Pages: 226
Read for: Celebrate the Author Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: September 29, 2008
Finished: September 30, 2008
Read my review.

October 2008

I read 10 books in October – 7 novels, 1 short story collection, and 1 memoir – with an average rating of 4.25 and a total of 2987 pages (average of 290 pages per book). Eight of the books were written by new-to-me authors. My favorite reads of the month were Music and Silence, The Secret River, An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination, and Gift From the Sea. My least favorite read was Murakami’s After Dark.

79.  Music and Silence, by Rose Tremain

Rated:
Number of Pages: 485
Read for: Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Group, Bookawards II ChallengeReading the World (Europe), AND The Costa Project
Started: October 1, 2008
Finished: October 9, 2008
Read my review.

80.  The Secret River, by Kate Grenville

Rated:
Number of Pages: 334
Read for: Celebrate the Author Challenge, TBR 2008 Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, Book Awards II Challenge, 2008 Unread Authors Challenge, 888 Challenge, Reading the World (Australia), AND Orange Prize Project Yahoo Group
Started: October 10, 2008
Finished: October 13, 2008
Read my review.

81.  The Brass Verdict, by Michael Connelly

Rated:
Number of Pages: 405
Read for: Notable Books Challenge, Early Review (Little, Brown and Company), Suspense-Thriller Challenge, AND Every Month is a Holiday Challenge
Started: October 13, 2008
Finished: October 17, 2008
Read my review.

82.  Testimony, by Anita Shreve

Rated:
Number of Pages: 305
Read for: Early Review (Little, Brown and Company), AND 24 Hour Read-A-Thon
Started: October 18, 2008
Finished: October 18, 2008
Read my review.

83.  Tomato Girl, by Jayne Pupek

Rated:
Number of Pages: 298
Read for: Early Review (Algonquin Books), AND 24 Hour Read-A-Thon
Started: October 18, 2008
Finished: October 18, 2008
Read my review.

84.  Months and Seasons, by Christopher Meeks

Rated:
Number of Pages: 169
Read for: Short Story Challenge AND Review for White Whisker Books
Started: October 19, 2008
Finished: October 22, 2008
Read my review.

85.  An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination, by Elizabeth McCracken

Rated:
Number of Pages: 184
Read for: Notable Books Challenge, Review Copy for Little Brown and Company, 888 Challenge, AND In Their Shoes Challenge
Started: October 23, 2008
Finished: October 24, 2008
Read my review.

86. After Dark, by Haruki Murakami

Rated:
Number of Pages: 244
Read for: Notable Books Challenge, AND  21st Fiction Yahoo Group
Started: October 25, 2008
Finished: October 27, 2008
Read my review.

87. Gift From the Sea, by Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Rated:
Number of pages: 138
Read for: Decades Challenge, 888 Challenge, AND A Novel Challenge Mini Challenge
Started: October 28, 2008
Finished: October 28, 2008
Read my review.

88. The Believers, by Zoe Heller

Rated:
Number of pages: 335
Read for: Barnes and Nobel First Look (Advance Readers Edition)
Started: October 28, 2008
Finished: October 31, 2008
Read my review.

November 2008

I read 6 books in November – 4 novels, 1 coffee table book, and 1 memoir – with an average rating of 4.5 and a total of 2263 pages (average of 377 pages per book). My favorite reads of the month were The Robber Bride, Rebecca, and The Year of Fog. My least favorite read was Black Wave. All but Margaret Atwood were new to me authors.

89. Alpine Americas, with essays by Don Mellor and photography by Olaf Soot

Rated:
Number of pages: 255 (number of photographs: 254)
Read for: Review copy for Horizon Editions LLC
Started: November 1, 2008
Finished: November 1, 2008
Read my review.

90. Rebecca, by Daphne Du Maurier

Rated:
Number of Pages: 410
Read for: Bookawards II Challenge, Decades 2008 Challenge, TBR 2008 Challenge, Unread Authors II Challenge, 1% Well-Read Challenge, AND 888 Challenge
Started: November 1, 2008
Finished: November 7, 2008
Read my review.

91. The Year of Fog, by Michelle Richmond

Rated:
Number of pages: 397
Read for: Every Month is a Holiday Challenge
Started: November 8, 2008
Finished: November 9, 2008
Read my review.

92.  Black Wave, by John and Jean Silverwood

Rated:
Number of Pages: 221
Read for: Early Review Book (Random House), AND 888 Challenge
Started: November 10, 2008
Finished: November 11, 2008
Read my review.

93. The Robber Bride, by Margaret Atwood

Rated:
Number of Pages: 520
Read for: Celebrate the Author Challenge, Orange Prize Project Yahoo Group, AND 1% Well-Read Challenge
Started: November 12, 2008
Finished: November 23, 2008
Read my review.

94.  Nefertiti, by Michelle Moran

Rated:
Number of Pages: 460
Read for: Review copy from the author AND Reading the World (Africa)
Started: November 24, 2008
Finished: November 30, 2008
Read my review.

December 2008

eyeinthedoor ghostroad firmin middleagedmanthe-sea

I read 7 books in December and had one “Did Not Finish”  – with an average rating of 4.1 and a total of 1832 pages (average of 262 pages per book). My favorite reads of the month were The Heretic Queen, The Secret Scripture, and The Ghost Road. Four books were by new-to-me authors. My least favorite read was The Lover which I did not finish.

95.  The Heretic Queen, by Michelle Moran

Rated:
Number of Pages: 370
Read for: review copy from the author AND Reading the World (Africa)
Started: November 30, 2008
Finished: December 5, 2008
Read my review.

The Lover, by A.B. Yehoshua

Rated: DNF
Number of Pages: 352 (read 44 pages)
Read for: Cafe
Started: December 6, 2008
Finished: DNF

96.  The Secret Scripture, by Sebastian Barry

Rated:
Number of Pages: 300
Read for: Every Month is a Holiday Challenge AND 21st Fiction Yahoo group
Started: December 7, 2008
Finished: December 10, 2008
Read my review.

97.  Regeneration, by Pat Barker

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 250
Read for: Unread Authors Challenge1% Well Read Challenge, AND 888 Challenge
Started: December 11, 2008
Finished: December 14, 2008
Read my review.

98.  The Eye in the Door, by Pat Barker

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 277
Read for: Unread Authors Challenge AND 888 Challenge
Started: December 15, 2008
Finished: December 21, 2008
Read my review.

99. The Ghost Road, by Pat Barker

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 276
Read for: Unread Authors ChallengeThe Complete Booker Challenge, 1% Well-Read Challenge888 Challenge AND Booker Yahoo Group
Started: December 21, 2008
Finished: December 25, 2008
Read my review.

100. Firmin, by Sam Savage

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 164
Read For: Early review (Libary Thing) and What An Animal Challenge
Started: December 25, 2008
Finished: December 28, 2008
Read my review.

101. The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Other Stories, by Christopher Meeks

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 151
Read For: Pleasure
Started: December 28, 2008
Finished: December 30, 2008
Read my review.

13 Comments

  1. March 10, 2008    

    Ooo! I love how you’ve done this page! Really cool! Love how you make a block of the book covers, and then do each book’s info underneath! Awesome!

  2. March 10, 2008    

    oops… that should have said “love how you MADE a block…” LOL

  3. March 10, 2008    

    Thanks, Jenn 🙂

  4. July 16, 2008    

    Your Blog is amazing (i’m just learning). I so enjoy reading your reviews; very well done. Thanks for helping me add to my TBR list.

  5. July 17, 2008    

    Diane: Thank you so much! I love adding to people’s TBR mountains 🙂

  6. Gayla Collins(weeklyreaders) Gayla Collins(weeklyreaders)
    July 24, 2008    

    Wendy;

    I have a giant bone to pick with you. Because of your beautifully composed page of your reads so far, the eloquent reviews, and the plots of the books, I was just forced(by my own hand) to wishlist several of the choices I hadn’t heard of before. Now why, when I have 150+ books waiting to be read, do I need to buy more books? Because I am a pathetic biblophile and you are feeding my addictions.

    Yes, I am going to blame you as I have run out of excuses. I LOVE to read so much; I am like you…it is a passion, a requirement for my joy, a habit I have no intention of changing.

    I loved reading your reviews. They are exquisite. Oh, and you are redeemed because so many of the books haven’t been released yet, thus giving me time to buy them a bit more slowly than most. You must get many ARCS and with the fabulous job you do of presenting and pondering the books, you deserve them.

    Keep up the good work and I will be viewing what you read eafch month.

    May I suggest “The Last Night at the Lobster” by Stewart O’Nan. I thought it wonderful.

    My best;
    Gayla Collins in Wyoming

  7. July 24, 2008    

    Gayla: Thank you!! *laughing* A true bibliophile ALWAYS buys more books than they can read (if it helps you feel better, I’m approaching 300 unread books on my TBR mountain!!). I love getting ARCs (it is my new addiction!), but I have promised myself to put them first in the stacks…so far I’ve gotten very lucky at getting really wonderful ARCs to read 🙂 Thanks for the Stewart O’Nan suggestion…I loved his latest book so much that I’ve been struggling to decide which of his books I should read next.

  8. September 16, 2008    

    I think I may have you beat with the TBR pile; there have to be over 300 but I am afraid to count. (This is no way keeps me from buying more; I have books coming today.)

    How do you get ARCs?

  9. September 16, 2008    

    LOL, Kelly – I’ve stopped counting too 🙂 There are a lot of resources for ARCs. I belong to Library Thing Early Reviewers and get ARCs through them, also many of the book publishers have links to media on their site and I’ve requested successfully through those. Shelf Awareness is a daily email which occasionally has clickable ads to request ARCs. And finally, I get a fair amount of emails directly from publishers reps who have found me through my blog. If you have a blog, I recommend you put something in the sidebar that gives publishers a way to contact you…it really does work 🙂 Good luck.

  10. January 1, 2009    

    Wow, what an amazing year!

  11. January 4, 2009    

    Wow talk about being organized. You have a very nice set up here. Thank you for sharing and all the book reviews.

  12. January 4, 2009    

    Thanks, Chris 🙂 Glad you stopped by!

  13. January 4, 2009    

    Laura: It was a whirlwind year! I read so many good books…but, I’ll be happy to have a more relaxed year in 2009!

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.