February 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

2009 In Review

I read some amazing books in 2009. Here is my link to a post which lists my top ten books of 2009.

The following are books read in 2009, with ratings and links to reviews. Books are rated as follows:

stars5.gif = Amazing, highly recommended, a must read
stars4.gif = Very good/good, recommended
stars3.gif = Okay, some people might like it
stars2.gif = Didn’t like it, weak writing, not recommended
stars1.gif = Hated it, don’t waste your time

January 2009

whitetiger outstealinghorses breathingouttheghost roadhome afterthefloods fingersmith

I read six (6) novels in January – rather a slow month due to illness and then the loss of my dog Caribou which put me in a reading funk. The average rating per book was 4.5; total number of 2048 pages (an average of 341 pages per book). My favorite read of the month was The Road Home, followed closely by a tie between Out Stealing Horses and Fingersmith. All were new to me authors except for Sarah Waters and Rose Tremain.

1.  The White Tiger, by Aravind Adiga

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 276
Read for: The Booker Yahoo Group, Book Awards II Challenge, 21st Fiction Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Asia), New Authors Challenge, What An Animal Challenge, 2009 Mini Challenge, AND The Complete Booker
Started: December 31, 2008
Finished: January 3, 2009
Read my review.

2.  Out Stealing Horses, by Per Peterson

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 238
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Unread Authors Challenge, 2009 Mini Challenge, Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Group, Notable Books Challenge, Lost in Translation Challenge, What an Animal Challenge, Book Awards II Challenge, AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: January 4, 2009
Finished: January 6, 2009
Read my review.

3.  Breathing Out the Ghost, by Kirk Curnutt

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 329
Read for: TLC Book Tours, New Authors Challenge, AND Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: January 6, 2009
Finished: January 11, 2009
Read my review.

4.  The Road Home, by Rose Tremain

Rated: 5stars
Number of pages: 411
Read for: Orange January, The Orange Prize Project, Notables Challenge, AND Bookawards II Challenge
Started: January 11, 2009
Finished: January 16, 2009
Read my review.

5.  After the Floods, by Bruce Henricksen

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 212
Read for: Review book for Lost Hills Books, What An Animal Challenge, New Authors Challenge, 2009 Novel Challenges Mini Challenge, AND My Year of Reading Dangerously
Started: January 16, 2009
Finished: January 18, 2009
Read my review.

6.  Fingersmith, by Sarah Waters

Rated: 5stars
Number of pages: 582
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, Orange January, AND The Orange Prize Project
Started: January 18, 2009
Finished: January 24, 2009
Read my review.

February 2009

littlegiant inhoveringflight matrimony redleatherdiary1 unaccustomedearth chocolat

I read four (4) novels, one (1) collection of short stories, and one (1) Non Fiction book in February. The average rating per book was 4.2 with a total number 1851 pages (an average of 309 pages per book). My favorite read of the month was In Hovering Flight, followed closely by a tie between Unaccustomed Earth and The Red Leather Diary. All were new to me authors.

7.  The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, by Tiffany Baker

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 341
Read for: Early Review (Hachette Books), ARC Reading Challenge, New Authors Challenge, AND Pub 2009 Challenge
Started: January 24, 2009
Finished: February 3, 2009
Read my review.

8.  In Hovering Flight, by Joyce Hinnefeld

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 260
Read for: Unbridled Books Review Copy, New Author Challenge, AND What An Animal Challenge
Started: February 3, 2009
Finished: February 7, 2009
Read my review.

9.  Matrimony, by Josh Henkin

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 291
Read for: Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge, Notable Book Challenge, New Author Challenge, and Review for Vintage Contemporaries
Started: February 7, 2009
Finished: February 11, 2009
Read my review.

10.  The Red Leather Diary: Reclaiming a Life Through the Pages of a Lost Diary, by Lily Koppel

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 320
Read for: Review and give away for Harper Collins, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: February 11, 2009
Finished: February 14, 2009
Read my review.

11. Unaccustomed Earth, by Jhumpa Lahiri

Rated: 5stars
Number of pages: 333
Read for: 21st Fiction Yahoo Group, New Authors Challenge, Notable Book Challenge, AND A Novel Challenge Yahoo Group Mini Challenge
Started: February 14, 2009
Finished: February 22, 2009
Read my review.

12. Chocolat, by Joanne Harris

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages:  306
Read for: Reading With Becky Reading Group, Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), AND New Author Challenge
Started: February 22, 2009
Finished: February 26, 2009
Read my review.

March 2009

islandsofdivinemusic brightestmoon bleedingheartsquare galwaybay offshore mechanicoffalling

In March I read 5 novels and 1 collection of short stories with an average rating of 3.9 and a total of 1900 pages (average 317 per book). All of the authors were new to me, except for Christopher Meeks. My favorite read of the month was Catherine Brady’s collection of short stories.

13. Islands of Divine Music, by John Addiego

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 241
Read for: New Author Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, Review copy for Unbridled Books, AND Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Group
Started: February 27, 2009
Finished: March 1, 2009
Read my review.

14.  The Brightest Moon of the Century, by Christopher Meeks

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 308
Read for: Early Review White Whisker Books, ARC Reading Challenge, AND 2009 PUB Challenge
Started: March 2, 2009
Finished: March 6, 2009
Read my review.

15.  Bleeding Heart Square, by Andrew Taylor

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 432
Read for: Review for Hyperion, 2009 PUB Challenge, New Author Challenge, AND Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: March 6, 2009
Finished: March 11, 2009
Read my review.

16.  Galway Bay, by Mary Pat Kelly

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 551
Read for: Book Tour for Hachette Books, 2009 PUB Challenge, New Author Challenge, AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: March 12, 2009
Finished: March 23, 2009
Read my review.

17. Offshore, by Penelope Fitzgerald

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 141
Read for: The Complete Booker, My Year of Reading Dangerously ChallengeBookawards II Challenge, New Author Challenge, AND Booker Prize Yahoo Group
Started: March 24, 2009
Finished: March 27, 2009
Read my review.

18.  The Mechanics of Falling, by Catherine Brady

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 227
Read for: TLC Book Tour, My Year of Reading Dangerously ChallengeNew Author Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND What An Animal Challenge
Started: March 28, 2009
Finished: March 30, 2009
Read my review.

netherland buffalolockjaw physickbookofdeliverancedane everyoneisbeautiful schoolofessentialingredients followme lastprince

In April I read 7 novels with an average rating of 3.8 and a total of 2219 pages (average 317 pages per book). All authors were new to me except for Katherine Center. My favorite read of the month was Everyone Is Beautiful.

19.  Netherland, by Joseph O’Neil

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 256
Read for: New Author Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Group, AND Booker Prize Yahoo Group
Started: March 31, 2009
Finished: April 4, 2009
Read my review.

20.  Buffalo Lockjaw, by Greg Ames

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 290
Read for: Early Review for Hyperion Books, 2009 PUB Challenge, New Author Challenge, ARC Reading Challenge, AND What an Animal Challenge
Started: April 4, 2009
Finished: April 6, 2009
Read my review.

21.  The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, by Katherine Howe

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 362
Read for: Barnes and Noble First Look Book Club, ARC Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND New Author Challenge
Started: April 6, 2009
Finished: April 12, 2009
Read my review.

22.  Everyone Is Beautiful, by Katherine Center

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 233
Read for: Early Review for Ballantine Books, 2009 PUB Challenge,  AND ARC Challenge
Started: April 12, 2009
Finished: April 24, 2009
Read my review.

23.  The School of Essential Ingredients, by Erica Bauermeister

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 240
Read for: New Author Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, ARC Challenge, AND Early Review for G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Started: April 14, 2009
Finished: April 17, 2009
Read my review.

24.  Follow Me, by Joanna Scott

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages:  420
Read for: Early Review Little Brown and Company, New Author Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND ARC Challenge
Started: April 18, 2009
Finished: April 25, 2009
Read my review.

25.  The Last Prince of the Mexican Empire, by C.M. Mayo

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 418
Read for: Early review (Unbridled Books), 2009 PUB Challenge, ARC Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, Reading the World (North America), AND New Author Challenge
Started: April 26, 2009
Finished: May 1, 2009
Read my review.

May 2009

christinefalls silverswan2 midnightschildren inthewoods lawsofharmony scentoforanges

In May I read 6 novels with an average rating of 3.9 and a total of  2494 pages (average 416 pages per book). All authors were new to me this month. My favorite read of the month was The Laws of Harmony, but I also really enjoyed both the Benjamin Black books.

26.  Christine Falls, by Benjamin Black

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 340
Read for: New Author’s Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, AND Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: May 2, 2009
Finished: May 6, 2009
Read my review.

27.  The Silver Swan, by Benjamin Black

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 304
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviewers Program
Started: May 7, 2009
Finished: May 11, 2009
Read my review.

28.  Midnight’s Children, by Salman Rushdie

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 533
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, Complete Booker, BookAwards II Challenge, 1% Well Read Challenge, New Authors Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, AND Bookie Yahoo Group
Started: May 12, 2009
Finished: May 30, 2009
Read my review.

29. In The Woods, by Tana French

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 464
Read for: Suspense-Thriller Challenge, New Authors Challenge, Themed Reading Challenge
Started: May 18, 2009
Finished: May 22, 2009
Read my review.

30. The Laws of Harmony, by Judith Ryan Hendricks

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 478
Read for: TLC Book Tour, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: May 22, 2009
Finished: May 26, 2009
Read my review.

31. The Scent of Oranges, by Joan Zawatzky

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 375
Read for: Early Review for Lisa Roe On Line Publicist, New Authors Challenge, AND Reading the World (Africa)
Started: May 27, 2009
Finished: May 30, 2009
Read my review.

June 2009

lastnightmontreal beach-trip suspicionsofwhichermalice thousandveils whatthedeadknow lovebeginsinwinter localnews

In June I read 6 novels, 1 non fiction crime book, and 1 collection of short stories with an average rating of 4.1 and a total of  2733 pages (average 342 pages per book). All authors were new to me this month. My favorite read of the month was Last Night In Montreal. I also really enjoyed Kate Summerscale’s non fiction book, Miriam Gershow’s debut novel, and Laura Lippman’s intriguing psychological crime novel.

32.  Last Night In Montreal, by Emily St. John Mandel

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 247
Read for: Early Review and Tour (Unbridled Books), New Authors Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, Themed Reading Challenge, AND 2009 ARC Challenge
Started: May 31, 2009
Finished: June 1, 2009
Read my review.

33.  Beach Trip, by Cathy Holton

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 406
Read for: New Author Challenge, TLC Book Tour, Southern Reading Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND 2009 ARC Challenge
Started: June 1, 2009
Finished: June 5, 2009
Read my review.

34.  The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher, by Kate Summerscale

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 304
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, New Author Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, 2009 Novel Challenge Mini Challenges, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, Mystery Read-A-Thon, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: June 6, 2009
Finished: June 7, 2009
Read my review.

35.  Malice, by Lisa Jackson

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 424
Read for: Review for Kensington Books, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, New Author Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, and Mystery Read-A-Thon
Started: June 7, 2009
Finished: June 8, 2009
Read my review.

36.  A Thousand Veils, by D.J. Murphy

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 396
Read for: New Author Challenge, Review copy(provided by author) AND Reading the World Personal Challenge (Asia)
Started: June 9, 2009
Finished: June 13, 2009
Read my review.

37.  What The Dead Know, by Laura Lippman

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 373
Read for: Themed Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, AND Notable Books Challenge
Started: June 13, 2009
Finished: June 16, 2009
Read my review.

38.  Love Begins in Winter, by Simon Van Booy

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 226
Read for: Review for Harper Perennial, PUB 2009 Challenge, AND New Author Challenge
Started: June 17, 2009
Finished: June 19, 2009
Read my review.

39.  The Local News, by Miriam Gershow

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 357
Read for: TLC Book Tour, PUB 2009 Challenge, 2009 ARC Challenge, AND New Author Challenge
Started: June 20, 2009
Finished: June 29, 2009
Read my review.

July 2009

elegancehedgehog seaofpoppies betweenhereand-april findingnouf goodthief

July was my slowest reading month yet.  I read 5 novels with an average rating of 4.1 and a total of  1701 pages (average 340 pages per book). All authors were new to me this month. My favorite read of the month was, hands down, Sea of Poppies.

40. The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 325
Read for: Cafe Yahoo Group, Lost In Translation Challenge, New Authors Challenge, Reading the World Challenge (Europe), What an Animal II Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously, Notable Book Challenge, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: June 30, 2009
Finished: July 18, 2009
Read my review.

41.  Sea of Poppies, by Amitav Gnosh

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 468
Read for: Booker Prize Yahoo Group, New Author Challenge, AND Notable Book Challenge
Started: July 1, 2009
Finished: July 12, 2009
Read my review.

42.  Between Here and April, by Deborah Copaken Kogan

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 277
Read for: Themed Reading Challenge AND New Authors Challenge
Started: July 18, 2009
Finished: July 20, 2009
Read my review:

43.  Finding Nouf, by Zoe Ferraris

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 305
Read for: Themed Reading Challenge, Reading the World Challenge (Asia), Orbis Terrarum ChallengeScience in Fiction Project (Forensic Science), AND New Authors Challenge
Started: July 20, 2009
Finished: July 24, 2009
Read my review.

44.  The Good Thief, by Hannah Tinti

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 326
Read for: Themed Reading Challenge, New Authors Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, Review for The Dial Press, AND ARC Challenge
Started: July 25, 2009
Finished: July 29, 2009
Read my review.

August 2009

houseonfortunestreet SomeoneKnowsMyName bestintentions longfall bookofunholymischief TortillaFlat

In August  I read 6 novels with an average rating of 4.0 and a total of  1967 pages (average 328 pages per book). All authors were new to me except for John Steinbeck (who is one of my FAVORITE authors). The best read of the month was a toss up between Someone Knows my Name and Tortilla Flat.

45.  The House on Fortune Street, by Margot Livesey

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 311
Read for: New Authors Challenge, AND Review for Harper Perennial
Started: July 30, 2009
Finished: August 3, 2009
Read my review.

46. Someone Knows My Name, by Lawrence Hill

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 474
Read for: New Author Challenge, Reading the World (Africa), Orbis Terrarum Challenge, Chunkster Challenge, AND 21st Fiction Yahoo Group
Started: August 3, 2009
Finished: August 12, 2009
Read my review.

47.  Best Intentions, by Emily Listfield

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 338
Read for: Mystery Read-A-Thon, New Authors Challenge, and PUB 2009 Challenge
Started: August 8, 2009
Finished: August 9, 2009
Read my review.

48.  The Long Fall, by Walter Mosley

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 303
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Mystery Read-A-Thon, PUB 2009 Challenge, AND 2009 ARC Challenge
Started: August 9, 2009
Finished: August 11, 2009
Read my review.

49.  The Book of Unholy Mischief, by Ellie Newmark

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 367
Read for: Pump up Your Book Promotion tour, Reading the World (Europe) Challenge, New Authors Challenge, AND Spice of Life Challenge
Started: August 13, 2009
Finished: August 18, 2009
Read my review.

50.  Tortilla Flat, by John Steinbeck

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 174
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo group, Read the Nobels Challenge, AND 2009 Mini Challenges
Started: August 19, 2009
Finished: August 23, 2009
Read my review.

September 2009

help CleopatrasDaughter angelsgame PromisedWorld DisobedientGirl

September was a horrible month of reading in terms of quantity, but what I did read was mostly excellent. I finished a total of 4 books with an average rating of 4.6 stars. I did not finish 1 book (The Angel’s Game), although I read 117 pages before giving up on it. I read a total of 1668 pages (with an average of 334 pages per book). New to me authors included Kathryn Stockett, Lisa Tucker and Ru Freeman. Picking a favorite is difficult. All four books I completed were terrific…but forced to choose, A Disobedient Girl probably edged out the competition.

51.  The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 444
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, 2009 PUB Challenge, 2009 ARC Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: August 25, 2009
Finished: September 3, 2009
Read my review.

52. Cleopatra’s Daughter, by Michelle Moran

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 416
Read for: Early Review for Crown AND 2009 PUB Challenge
Started: September 4, 2009
Finished: September 12, 2009
Read my review.

53.  The Angel’s Game, by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Rated: No rating – DNF
Number of Pages: 470
Read for: (because I did not finish the book, I won’t give myself credit for any of these challenges)  The Chunkster Challenge, 2oo9 PUB Challenge, ARC Challenge, Library Thing Early Reviewer’s Program, Reading the World Challenge (Europe), Orbis Terrarum Challenge, and Lost In Translation Challenge
Started: September 13, 2009
Finished: DNF
Read my thoughts.

54.  The Promised World, by Lisa Tucker

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 319
Read for: TLC Book Tour, New Authors Challenge, ARC Challenge, AND 2009 PUB Challenge
Started: September 18, 2009
Finished: September 21, 2009
Read my review.

55. A Disobedient Girl, by Ru Freeman

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 372
Read for: TLC Book Tour, New Author Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, AND Reading the World (Asia)
Started: September 22, 2009
Finished: September 28, 2009
Read my review.

October 2009

BendInTheRiver Goldengrove Sometimes We're Always Real Same-Same CityOfRefuge LoveMedicine girlsheusedtobe cradle BundleOfTrouble LastNightInTwistedRiver

I read 9 novels in October with an average rating of 3.6 stars. I read 2930 pages (an average of 326 pages per book). This was a great month of reading in terms of quantity AND quality. City of Refuge, Love Medicine and Last Night in Twisted River all garnered five star ratings. Out of the 9 books I finished, 8 were new to me authors.

56.  A Bend in the River, by V.S. Naipaul

Rated: 1star
Number of Pages: 278
Read for: Booker Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Africa), Reading the Nobels Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, New Authors Challenge, 1% Well-Read Challenge, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: September 29, 2009
Finished: October 3, 2009
Read my review.

57. Goldengrove, by Francine Prose

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 275
Read for: TLC Book Tour AND New Authors Challenge
Started: October 3, 2009
Finished: October 7, 2009
Read my review.

58.  Sometimes We’re Always Real Same-Same, by Mattox Roesch

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 317
Read for: Review copy Unbridled Books, My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: October 8, 2009
Finished: October 11, 2009
Read my review.

59.  City of Refuge, by Tom Piazza

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 403
Read for: Review Copy Harper Perennial, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: October 12, 2009
Finished: October 18, 2009
Read my review.

60.  Love Medicine, by Louse Erdrich

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 367
Read for: Random Reading Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: October 18, 2009
Finished: October 24, 2009
Read my review.

61.  The Girl She Used to Be, by David Cristofano

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 241
Read for: Early Review (Grand Central Publishing), New Authors Challenge, AND 2009 PUB Challenge
Started: October 24, 2009
Finished: October 24, 2009
Read my review.

62.  The Cradle, by Patrick Somerville

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 200
Read for: Early Review (Little, Brown & Co), New Authors Challenge, AND 2009 PUB Challenge
Started: October 24, 2009
Finished: October 24, 2009
Read my review.

63. Bundle of Trouble, by Diana Orgain

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 296
Read for: Early Review (Penguin), New Authors Challenge, AND 2009 PUB Challenge
Started: October 25, 2009
Finished: October 25, 2009
Read my review.

64.  Last Night in Twisted River, by John Irving

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 553
Read for: Early Review (Random House), 2009 PUB Challenge, 2009 ARC Challenge, AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: October 25, 2009
Finished: November 1, 2009
Read my review.

November 2009

artofracing LookingAfterPigeon HourIFirstBelieved crossedwires Passport Superstress Solution

I read 5 novels and 1 non fiction book in November with an average rating of 4.2 stars. I read 1934 pages (an average of 322 pages per book). My favorite reads of the month were Racing in the Rain and The Passport. Out of the 6 books I finished, 5 were new to me authors.

65.  The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 321
Read for: What an Animal Challenge II, AND New Author Challenge
Started: November 2, 2009
Finished: November 3, 2009
Read my review.

66.  Looking After Pigeon, by Maud Carol Markson

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 192
Read for: TLC Book Tour, New Author Challenge, 2009 PUB Challenge, AND What an Animal II Challenge
Started: November 3, 2009
Finished: November 10, 2009
Read my review.

67.  The Hour I First Believed, by Wally Lamb

Rated: 3stars
Number of Pages: 723
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, AND  Review for Harper Collins
Started: November 11, 2009
Finished: November 16, 2009
Read my review.

68.  Crossed Wires, by Rosy Thornton

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 343
Read for: New Author Challenge, AND Review for Headline Review
Started: November 18, 2009
Finished: November 23, 2009
Read my review.

69.  The Passport, by Herta Muller

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 92
Read for: Read the Nobels Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), Lost in Translation Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously ChallengeWomen Unbound Reading Challenge, AND Review copy for Serpent’s Tail
Started: November 23, 2009
Finished: November 24, 2009
Read my review.

70. The Superstress Solution, by Roberta Lee MD

Rated: 4Stars
Number of pages: 263
Read for: Early Review for Random House
Started: November 25, 2009
Finished: November 27, 2009
Read my review.

December 2009

kristin WhenSheFlew persepolis_cover_big Persep2 FireInTheBlood DiggingToAmerica

I read 8 novels in December (I counted Kristin Laransdatter as 3 novels because it is, in fact, 3 novels compiled into one edition) with an average rating of 4.3 stars. I read 2192 pages (an average of 274 pages per book). My favorite read of the month was Fire in the Blood. Out of the 8 books I finished, I was introduced to 3  new to me authors (note that there were 2 of these authors who wrote more than one book in this month).

71, 72, & 73.   Kristin Lavransdatter, by Sigrid Undset

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 1124
Read for: Kristin Lavransdatter Read-A-Long, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, Lost in Translation Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), Read the Nobels Challenge, Women Unbound Challenge, AND My Year of Reading Dangerously
Started: November 27, 2009
Finished: December 20, 2009
Read my review of The Wreath, The Wife, and The Cross.

74. When She Flew, by Jennie Shortridge

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 322
Read for: TLC Book Tour, AND Review for Penguin
Started: December 20, 2009
Finished: December 24, 2009
Read my review.

75.  Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood, by Marjane Satrapi

Rated: 4Stars
Number of Pages: 153
Read for: Women Unbound Challenge, Reading the World (Asia), Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: December 25, 2009
Finished: December 27, 2009
Read my review.

76.  Persepolis 2: The Story of a Return, by Marjane Satrapi

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 187
Read for: Women Unbound Challenge, Reading the World (Asia), Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge, My Year of Reading Dangerously, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: December 27, 2009
Finished: December 28, 2009
Read my review.

77. Fire in the Blood, by Irene Nemirovsky

Rated: 5stars
Number of Pages: 129
Read for: Lost in Translation Challenge
Started: December 28, 2009
Finished: December 29, 2009
Read my review.

78. Digging to America, by Anne Tyler

Rated: 3hstars
Number of Pages: 277
Read for: Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge
Started: December 29, 2009
Finished: December 31, 2009
Read my review.

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.