February 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

2010 in Review

What a GREAT year of reading! In 2010 I read 96 books, a total of 28,633 pages (an average of 298 pages per book) with more than 75% of them rated a 4 star or higher! Here is my list of the Best Books of 2010. I found a lot of new authors from whom I want to read more – 78% of my reading represented new to me authors (which is a direct reflection of the number of review books I read). Women authors dominated my reading (60%). Fiction continues to be my reading of choice with 74% of the books falling into this category. Here is the final breakdown:

  • Fiction: 71 novels (74% of my total reading)
  • Collection of Short Stories: 1
  • Graphic Novel: 1
  • Nonfiction: 23 (24% of my reading)
  • Five Star Books (): 27 (28% of my reading)
  • Four and a Half Star Books (): 19 (20% of my reading)
  • Four Star Books (): 28 (29% of my reading)
  • Books rated less than Four Stars: 22 (23% of my reading)
  • Books written by Women: 58 (60%)
  • Books written by Men: 35 (36%)
  • Books co-authored by a man and a woman: 3
  • New to Me Authors: 75 (78% of my total reading)

The following are books read in 2010, with ratings and links to reviews. Books are rated as follows:

stars5.gif = Amazing, highly recommended, a must read
stars4.gif = Very good/good, recommended
stars3.gif = Okay, some people might like it
stars2.gif = Didn’t like it, weak writing, not recommended
stars1.gif = Hated it, don’t waste your time

January 2010

YearOfTheFlood

In January I read eight (8) books – 5 novels, 1 memoir, and 2 general nonfiction books with an average rating of 4.1 stars. I read 2683 pages (an average of 335 pages per book). My favorite read of the month was Keeping The Feast. Of the books I read, three were new-to-me authors (Dunant, Butturini, and the Grimms).

1. The Year of the Flood, by Margaret Atwood

Rated:
Number of Pages: 386
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, ARC 2010 Challenge, O.A.T.E.S. Challenge, AND Notable Books Challenge
Started: January 2, 2010
Finished: January 7, 2010
Read my review.

2.  Shanghai Girls by Lisa See

Rated:
Number of Pages: 309
Read for: TLC Book Tours, AND  The Year of the Historical Challenge,
Started: January 7, 2010
Finished: January 13, 2010
Read my review.

3.  Sacred Hearts, by Sarah Dunant

Rated:
Number of Pages: 400
Read for: Social Justice Challenge, Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Book Group, Women Unbound Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), The Year of the Historical, AND 2010 New Author Challenge
Started: January 13, 2010
Finished: January 21, 2010
Read my review.

4.  House of Mirth, by Edith Wharton

Rated:
Number of Pages: 350
Read for: The 1% Well-Read Challenge, AND The Classics Circuit
Started: January 22, 2010
Finished: January 26, 2010
Read my review.

5.  The Writing of Fiction, by Edith Wharton

Rated:
Number of Pages: 125
Read for: The Classics Circuit
Started: January 26, 2010
Finished: January 26, 2010
Read my review.

6.  Keeping the Feast, by Paula Butturini

Rated:
Number of Pages: 259
Read for: TLC Book Tour, 2010 New Authors Challenge, 2010 ARC Reading Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, AND Memorable Memoirs Challenge
Started: January 27, 2010
Finished: January 29, 2010
Read my review.

7.  The Basic Book of Digital Photography, by Tom Grimm and Michele Grimm

Rated:
Number of Pages: 481
Read for: 2010 New Authors Challenge, AND Review for Plume Books
Started: January 27, 2010
Finished: January 29, 2010
Read my review.

8.  The Last Surgeon, by Michael Palmer

Rated:
Number of Pages: 373
Read for: Suspense-Thriller Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, AND early review for St. Martin’s Press
Started: January 30, 2010
Finished: January 31, 2010
Read my review.

February 2010

In February I read six (6) books – 2 novels, 3 memoirs, and 1 general nonfiction book with an average rating of 4.1 stars. I read 1786 pages (an average of 298 pages per book). My favorite read of the month was Let’s Take the Long Way Home. Of the books I read, all but Lippman were new-to-me authors.

9.  Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel

Rated:
Number of Pages: 532
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, Year of the Historical Challenge, What an Animal II Challenge, New Authors ChallengeBook Awards IV Challenge, Notable Book Challenge, The Orange Prize Project, AND Complete Booker Perpetual Challenge
Started: February 1, 2010
Finished: February 20, 2010
Read my review.

10.  Let’s Take the Long Way Home: A Memoir of Friendship, by Gail Caldwell

Rated:
Number of Pages: 186
Read for: Early review for Random House, 2010 ARC Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, 2010 New Authors Challenge, What An Animal II Challenge, AND The Memorable Memoir Reading Challenge
Started: February 14, 2010
Finished: February 15, 2010
Read my review.

11.  Just Don’t Fall: How I Grew Up, Conquered Illness, and Made it Down the Mountain, by Josh Sundquist

Rated:
Number of Pages: 316
Read for: Review for Viking, The Memorable Memoir Reading Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: February 16, 2010
Finished: February 21, 2010
Read my review.

12.  Life Sentences, by Laura Lippman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 342
Read for: TLC Book Tour, AND Review for William Morrow/Harper Collins
Started: February 22, 2010
Finished: February 27, 2010
Read my review.

13.  The Mayo Clinic Diet, by the weight loss experts at The Mayo Clinic

Rated:
Number of pages: 245
Read for: 2010 New Authors Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, AND Early review for Good Books
Started: February 25, 2010
Finished: February 26, 2010
Read my review.

14.  Making Toast, by Roger Rosenblatt

Rated:
Number of pages: 165
Read for: 2010 Memorable Memoir Challenge, 2010 New Author Challenge, Early Review for Harper Collins/ECCO, 2010 ARC Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge
Started: February 27, 2010
Finished: February 28, 2010
Read my review.

March 2010

In February I read nine (9) books – 7 novels, 1 general nonfiction book, and 1 graphic novel with an average rating of 4.5 stars. I read 2806 pages (an average of 312 pages per book). Most of the books I read this month I absolutely loved (I think this is the most 5 star ratings I have had in one month). Seven of these authors were new-to-me.

15.  Raven Stole the Moon, by Garth Stein

Rated:
Number of Pages: 441
Read for: Early Review (Harper Collins), 2010 ARC Challenge, AND Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: March 1, 2010
Finished: March 3, 2010
Read my review.

16. The Children’s Book, by A.S. Byatt

Rated:
Number of Pages: 675
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, Booker Yahoo Group, Year of the Historical ChallengeNew Authors Challenge, AND Women Unbound Challenge
Started: March 4, 2010
Finished: March 14, 2010
Read my review.

17.  The Arrival, by Shaun Tan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 128
Read for: Aussie Author Challenge, 2010 New Authors Challenge, AND Book Awards IV Challenge
Started: March 14, 2010
Finished: March 14, 2010
Read my review.

18.  The Lotus Eaters, by Tatjana Soli

Rated:
Number of Pages: 386
Read for: TLC Book Tour, Early Review for St. Martin’s Press, Reading Around the World (Asia), 2010 PUB Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, AND 2010 New Author’s Challenge
Started: March 14, 2010
Finished: March 19, 2010
Read my review
.

19.  An Irish Country Girl, by Patrick Taylor

Rated:
Number of Pages: 297
Read for: Early review for Tor/Forge, 2010 PUB Challenge, AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: March 20, 2010
Finished: March 23, 2010
Read my review.

20.  Ellen Foster, by Kaye Gibbons

Rated:
Number of Pages: 126
Read for: The Social Justice Challenge
Started: March 23, 2010
Finished: March 24, 2010
Read my review.

21.  Get Lucky, by Kathleen Center

Rated:
Number of Pages: 267
Read for: TLC Book Tour, Early Review (Ballantine), Chick Lit Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, AND  2010 ARC Challenge
Started: March 26, 2010
Finished: March 28, 2010
Read my review.

22.  I Never Told Anyone, Edited by Ellen Bass and Louise Thornton

Rated:
Number of Pages: 266
Read for: Social Justice Challenge,AND  Women Unbound Challenge
Started: March 26, 2010
Finished: March 27, 2010
Read my review.

23.  One Amazing Thing, by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Rated:
Number of Pages: 220
Read for: 2010 ARC Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, New Author Challenge,AND South Asian Author Challenge
Started: March 28, 2010
Finished: March 30, 2010
Read my review.

April 2010

I had an awesome month of reading in April. I read 10 novels, 1 general non fiction book, and had 1 Did-Not-Finish book with an average rating of 3.9 stars. I read 2730 pages (an average of 248 pages per book). Eleven of the twelve books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was The Glass Room by Simon Mawer.

24.  The Little Stranger, by Sarah Waters

Rated:
Number of Pages: 463
Read for: 21st Fiction Yahoo Group, Chunkster Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, AND The Orange Prize Project
Started: March 31, 2010
Finished: April 3, 2010
Read my review.

25. The Glass Room, by Simon Mawer

Rated:
Number of Pages: 404
Read for: Booker Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Europe), AND 2010 New Authors Challenge,
Started: April 3, 2010
Finished: April 6, 2010
Read my review.

26.  Iron Lake, by William Kent Krueger

Rated:
Number of Pages: 438
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, AND Suspense-Thriller Challenge
Started: April 6, 2010
Finished: April 10, 2010
Read my review.

27.  Impatient With Desire, by Gabrielle Burton

Rated:
Number of Pages: 236
Read for: Early Review for Hyperion Voice (and Library Thing), 2010 New Author Challenge, Women Unbound Reading Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, 2010 PUB Challenge, Social Justice Challenge, AND Year of the Historical Challenge
Started: April 10, 2010
Finished: April 10, 2010
Read my review.

28.  The Marriage of True Minds, by Stephen Evans

Rated:
Number of Pages: 181
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, AND Review for Unbridled Books
Started: April 10, 2010
Finished: April 10, 2010
Read my review.

29.  The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 465
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), Thriller-Suspense Challenge, Chunkster Challenge, The Scandinavian Challenge, AND Orbis Terrarum 2010 Challenge
Started: April 10, 2010
Finished: April 16, 2010
Read my review.

30. Europa, by Tim Parks

Rated:
Number of Pages: 262 (only finished 40)
Read for: Booker Prize Yahoo Group
Started: April 6, 2010
Finished: DNF
Read my thoughts.

31.  Therese Raquin, by Emile Zola

Rated:
Number of Pages: 194
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), The Classics Circuit, 2010 Orbis Terrarum Challenge, AND 2010 Classics Challenge
Started: April 16, 2010
Finished: April 18, 2010
Read my review.

32.  Chow Hounds, by Ernie Ward, DVM

Rated:
Number of Pages: 278
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, AND TLC Book Tour
Started: April 18, 2010
Finished: April 25, 2010
Read my review.

33.  The Threadbare Heart, by Jennie Nash

Rated:
Number of Pages: 319
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, Chick Lit Challenge, Early Review (Berkley Trade Paperback), Mother’s Day Promotion for Jennie Nash, AND 2010 ARC Challenge
Started: April 18, 2010
Finished: April 20, 2010
Read my review.

34.  Little Bee, by Chris Cleave

Rated:
Number of Pages: 266
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, AND Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: April 21, 2010
Finished: April 25, 2010
Read my review.

35.  Let The Great World Spin, by Colum McCann

Rated:
Number of Pages: 349
Read for: 2010 New Author Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, The New York Challenge 2010, TLC Book Tour, Book Awards IV Challenge, AND 21st Fiction Yahoo Group
Started: April 25, 2010
Finished: April 30, 2010
Read my review.

May 2010

In May I read 6 novels with an average rating of 4.25 stars. I read 1833 pages (an average of 306 pages per book). Four of the six books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was The Lizard Cage, followed closely by Tinkers.

36.  The Singer’s Gun, by Emily St. John Mandel

Rated:
Number of Pages: 287
Read for: Early Review (Unbridled Books), 2010 ARC Reading Challenge, AND Suspense-Mystery Challenge
Started: May 2, 2010
Finished: May 5, 2010
Read my review.

37.  Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin

Rated:
Number of Pages:  262
Read for:  Booker Yahoo Group, The New York Challenge 2010, Book Awards IV Challenge, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: May 6, 2010
Finished: May 8, 2010
Read my review.

38.  The Lizard Cage, by Karen Connelly

Rated:
Number of Pages:  424
Read for: Bookies Yahoo Group, Reading the World (Asia), New Authors Challenge, Book Awards IV Challenge, Orange Prize Project, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: May 8, 2010
Finished: May 12, 2010
Read my review.

39.  My Name is Mary Sutter, by Robin Oliveira

Rated:
Number of Pages:  364
Read for: Review for Penguin, Year of the Historical Challenge, Women Unbound Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: May 13, 2010
Finished: May 19, 2010
Read my review.

40.  In the Wake of the Boatman, by Jonathon Scott Fuqua

Rated:
Number of Pages:  305
Read for: Review for Bancroft Press, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: May 19, 2010
Finished: May 22, 2010
Read my review.

41. Tinkers, by Paul Harding

Rated:
Number of Pages: 191
Read for: Pulitzer Project, Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Group, Book Awards IV Challenge, AND  New Authors Challenge
Started: May 29, 2010
Finished: May 31, 2010
Read my review.

JUNE 2010


June was a busy month of reading for me. I finished 12 books this month: 2 non fiction books, a collection of short stories, and 9 novels. I gave them an average rating of 4.0 stars. I read 3305 pages (an average of 275 pages per book). Ten books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was Cool Water.

42.  There is No Me Without You, by Melissa Fay Greene

Rated:
Number of Pages: 427
Read for: Reading the World (Africa), Non Fiction Five Challenge, Women Unbound Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, Social Justice Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: May 22, 2010
Finished: June 9, 2010
Read my review.

43.  Everything Is Broken, by Emma Larkin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 264
Read for: Non Fiction Five Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge, TLC Book TourNew Authors Challenge, AND Reading the World (Asia)
Started: June 1, 2010
Finished: June 4, 2010
Read my review.

44.  Mudbound, by Hilary Jordan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 324
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, Book Awards IV Challenge,  AND New Authors Challenge
Started: June 9, 2010
Finished: June 11, 2010
Read my review.

45. The Penlopiad, by Margaret Atwood

Rated:
Number of Pages: 196
Read for: 21st Fiction Yahoo Group, AND OATES Challenge
Started: June 11, 2010
Finished: June 13, 2010
Read my review.

46.  Beside the Sea, by Veronique Olmi

Rated:
Number of Pages: 111
Read for: Reading the World (Europe), 2010 New Authors Challenge, AND Orbis Terrarum Challenge
Started: June 14, 2010
Finished: June 14, 2010
Read my review.

47.  Cool Water, by Dianne Warren

Rated:
Number of Pages: 328
Read for: Review for Harper Collins Canada, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: June 12, 2010
Finished: June 17, 2010
Read my review.

48.  The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger

Rated:
Number of Pages: 277
Read for: Classics Challenge, Bookies Too Yahoo Group, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: June 17, 2010
Finished: June 20, 2010
Read my review.

49.  The Outside Boy, by Jeanine Cummins

Rated:
Number of Pages: 360
Read for: New Authors Challenge, AND 2010 ARC Reading Challenge
Started: June 19, 2010
Finished: June 22, 2010
Read my review.

50.  The Secret Lives of People in Love, by Simon Van Booy

Rated:
Number of Pages: 174
Read for: Review for Harper Perennial, AND  The Short Story Reading Challenge
Started: June 22, 2010
Finished: June 27, 2010
Read my review.

51. The Quickening by Michelle Hoover

Rated:
Number of Pages: 215
Read for: Early Review (Other Press), Women Unbound Challenge, New Authors Challenge,
Started: June 23, 2010
Finished: June 26, 2010
Read my review.

52.  Promises to Keep, by Jane Green

Rated:
Number of Pages: 337
Read for: Early Review (Viking), New Authors Challenge, AND 2010 Chick Lit Challenge
Started: June 26, 2010
Finished: June 29, 2010
Read my review.

53.  Whiter Than Snow by Sandra Dallas

Rated:
Number of Pages: 292
Read for: Early Review (St. Martin’s Press), New Authors Challenge, AND Year of the Historical Challenge
Started: June 29, 2010
Finished: July 1, 2010
Read my review.

JULY 2010

In July I finished 7  books: 1 non fiction book and 6 novels with an average rating of 4.1 stars. I read 2075 pages (an average of 296 pages per book). All but one of the books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was a toss up between The Blue Sweater and By Fire, By Water – one a non fiction, one a fiction.

54.  Sea Escape by Lynne Griffin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 288
Read for: Chick Lit Challenge, TLC Book Tour, Early Review (Simon & Schuster), AND 2010 New Authors
Started: July 2, 2010
Finished: July 6, 2010
Read my review.

55.  The Blue Sweater, by Jacqueline Novogratz

Rated:
Number of Pages: 284
Read for: Non Fiction Five Challenge, The Social Justice Challenge, Women Unbound Challenge, Memorable Memoir Challenge, AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: July 4, 2010
Finished: July 17, 2010
Read my review.

56.  By Fire, By Water by Mitchell James Kaplan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 277
Read for: Early Review (Other Press), The Year of the Historical, AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: July 7, 2010
Finished: July 11, 2010
Read my review.

57.  Stay, by Allie Larkin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 308
Read for: Chick Lit Challenge, Early Review (Dutton/Penguin), AND New Authors Challenge
Started: July 11, 2010
Finished: July 16, 2010
Read my review.

58.  31 Bond Street, by Ellen Horan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 343
Read for: Early Review (Harper Collins), TLC Book Tour, Year of the Historical Challenge, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: July 17, 2010
Finished: July 20, 2010
Read my review.

59.  I Curse the River of Time, by Per Petterson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 233
Read for: Early Review (Gray Wolf Press), Spotlight Series, 2010 ARC Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), 2010 Orbis Terrarum, AND Scandinavian Reading Challenge
Started: July 21, 2010
Finished: July 27, 2010
Read my review.

60.  Tomorrow River, by Lesley Kagen

Rated:
Number of Pages: 342
Read for: New Authors Challenge, AND Early Review (Dutton/Penguin)
Started: July 22, 2010
Finished: July 27, 2010
Read my review.

AUGUST 2010

In August I read 10  books: 3 non fiction books and 4 novels with an average rating of 4.4 stars. I read 2952 pages (an average of 295 pages per book). All but one of the books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was a toss up between Cutting for Stone, Wild Comfort, and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – one a non fiction book, one a classic, and one a contemporary novel.

61.  Cutting for Stone, by Abraham Verghese

Rated:
Number of Pages: 688
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Notable Books Challenge, Bookies Too Yahoo Group, Cafe Dei Letterati Yahoo Group, Early Review (Vintage), 2010 ARC Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge (Ethiopia), Reading the World (Africa), AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: July 29, 2010
Finished: August 7, 2010
Read my review.

62.  Thumbing Through Thoreau, by Kenny Luck

Rated:
Number of Pages: 295
Read for: Early Review (Tribute Books), ARC Reading Challenge, New Authors Challenge, AND Non Fiction Five Challenge
Started: August 6, 2010
Finished: August 6, 2010
Read my review.

63.  One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, by Ken Kesey

Rated:
Number of Pages: 311
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Bookies Too Yahoo Group, AND Classics Challenge
Started: August 7, 2010
Finished: August 14, 2010
Read my review.

64.  Drawn to the Land, by Elizabeth J. & Barton M. Cockey

Rated:
Number of Pages: 37
Read for: Nonfiction Five Challenge, New Authors Challenge, AND Early Review (Bridgeway Books)
Started: August 13, 2010
Finished: August 13, 2010
Read my review.

65.  Wild Comfort: The Solace of Nature, by Kathleen Dean Moore

Rated:
Number of Pages: 187
Read for: Nonfiction Five Challenge, AND New Authors Challenge
Started: August 9, 2010
Finished: August 13, 2010
Read my review.

66.  Still Missing, by Chevy Stevens

Rated:
Number of Pages: 340
Read for: 2010 ARC Reading Challenge, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, Early Review (St. Martins Press), AND New Authors Challenge
Started: August 15, 2010
Finished: August 17, 2010
Read my review.

67.  Earth and Ashes, by Atiq Rahimi

Rated:
Number of Pages: 67
Read for: Orbis Terrarum Challenge, Reading the World (Asia), Early Review (Other Press), AND New Authors Challenge
Started: August 18, 2010
Finished: August 18, 2010
Read my review.

68.  City of Veils, by Zoe Ferraris

Rated:
Number of Pages: 389
Read for: Reading the World (Asia), ARC Reading Challenge, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, Early Review (Little Brown & Co), AND Women Unbound Challenge
Started: August 19, 2010
Finished: August 24, 2010
Read my review.

69.  Home Repair, by Liz Rosenberg

Rated:
Number of Pages: 328
Read for: New Authors Challenge AND Chick Lit Challenge
Started: August 25, 2010
Finished: August 27, 2010
Read my review.

70.  Simply from Scratch, by Alicia Bessette

Rated:
Number of Pages: 310
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Chick Lit Challenge, AND Early Review (Dutton/Penguin)
Started: August 28, 2010
Finished: August 31, 2010
Read my review.

September 2010

In September I read 7  books: 1 non fiction book and 6 novels with an average rating of 4.3 stars. I read 2410 pages (an average of 344 pages per book). All but one of the books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was a toss up between Prodigal Summer and The Wake of Forgiveness – one by a favorite author, and one by a new to me novelist (although I have read a short story previously by Bruce Machart).

71.  The Wake of Forgiveness, by Bruce Machart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 309
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Early Review (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), 2010 ARC Challenge, AND Barnes and Noble First Look Club
Started: September 1, 2010
Finished: September 5, 2010
Read my review.

72.  Dangerous Neighbors, by Beth Kephart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 165
Read for:  New Authors Challenge, ARC Reading Challenge, AND Year of the Historical Challenge
Started: September 6, 2010
Finished: September 7, 2010
Read my review.

73.  Grace, by Melinda Marchiano

Rated:
Number of Pages: 289
Read for:  New Authors Challenge, ARC Reading Challenge, AND Memorable Memoir Challenge,
Started: September 7, 2010
Finished: September 16, 2010
Read my review.

74.  The Search, by Nora Roberts

Rated:
Number of Pages: 488
Read for:  New Authors Challenge, ARC Reading Challenge, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: September 8, 2010
Finished: September 12, 2010
Read my review.

75.  Never Wave Goodbye, by Doug Magee

Rated:
Number of Pages: 289
Read for:  New Authors Challenge, Suspense-Thriller Challenge, AND Early Review (Simon & Schuster)
Started: September 13, 2010
Finished: September 17, 2010
Read my review.

76.  Prodigal Summer, by Barbara Kingsolver

Rated:
Number of Pages: 444
Read for: TLC Book Tour
Started: September 18, 2010
Finished: September 26, 2010
Read my review.

77.  The Blessings of the Animals, by Katrina Kittle

Rated:
Number of Pages: 426
Read for: Early Review (Harper Perennial), Chick Lit Challenge, ARC Reading Challenge, AND New Author Challenge
Started: September 27, 2010
Finished: September 29, 2010
Read my review.

OCTOBER 2010

In October my reading was slower than normal as I was traveling. I read 6  books: 1 non fiction book and 5 novels with an average rating of 4.5 stars. I read 1785 pages (an average of 298 pages per book). All but one of the books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was a toss up between Safe From the Sea, Hiroshima in the Morning, and Room – all new to me authors.

78.  Room, by Emma Donaghue

Rated:
Number of Pages: 321
Read for: New Authors Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, AND Early Review (Hachette)
Started: September 30, 2010
Finished: October 2, 2010
Read my review.

79.  Hiroshima in the Morning, by Rahna Reiko Rizzuto

Rated:
Number of Pages: 331
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Early Review (The Feminist Press), Reading the World (Asia), Women Unbound Challenge, AND Memorable Memoir Challenge
Started: October 2, 2010
Finished: October 5, 2010
Read my review.

80.  Free to a Good Home, by Eve Marie Mont

Rated:
Number of Pages: 292
Read for: New Authors Challenge, Chick Lit Challenge, AND Early Review (Berkley/Penguin)
Started: October 5, 2010
Finished: October 9, 2010
Read my review.

81.  Stranger Here Below, by Joyce Hinnefeld

Rated:
Number of Pages: 265
Read for: ARC Challenge, AND Early Review (Unbridled Books)
Started: October 10, 2010
Finished: October 14, 2010
Read my review.

82.  Red Hook Road, by Ayelet Waldman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 335
Read for: ARC Challenge, Early Review (Doubleday), AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: October 15, 2010
Finished: October 24, 2010
Read my review.

83.  Safe From The Sea, by Peter Geye

Rated:
Number of Pages: 241
Read for: 2010 ARC Challenge, Early Review (Unbridled Books), AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: October 25, 2010
Finished October 30, 2010
Read my review.

NOVEMBER 2010

In November I read 7  books: 2 non fiction books and 5 novels with an average rating of 4.5 stars. I read 2058 pages (an average of 294 pages per book). All but one of the books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was a toss up between Scent of the Missing and Portrait of the Mother as a Young Woman.

84.  Freedom, by Jonathan Franzen

Rated:
Number of Pages: 562
Read for: Chunkster Challenge AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: October 31, 2010
Finished: November 15, 2010
Read my review.

85.  Pukka: The Pup After Merle, by Ted Kerasote

Rated:
Number of Pages: 197
Read for: Early Review (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: November 12, 2010
Finished: November 12, 2010
Read my review.

86.  Love in Mid Air, by Kim Wright

Rated:
Number of Pages: 312
Read for: Early Review (Grand Central Publishing) AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: November 16, 2010
Finished: November 19, 2010
Read my review.

87. The Scent of the Missing, by Susannah Charleson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 285
Read for: Early Review (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), AND 2010 New Authors Challenge
Started: November 19, 2010
Finished: November 22, 2010
Read my review.

88.  Mary Ann in Autumn, by Armistead Maupin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 287
Read for: 2010 ARC Challenge, AND Early Review (Harper Collins)
Started: November 23, 2010
Finished: November 25, 2010
Read my review.

89.  On Maggie’s Watch, by Ann Wertz Garvin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 290
Read for: Early Review (Penguin), AND New Author Challenge
Started: November 26, 2010
Finished: November 28, 2010
Read my review.

90.  Portrait of the Mother as a Young Woman, by Friedrich Christian Delius

Rated:
Number of Pages: 125
Read for: New Author Challenge, Early Review (Peirene Press), AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: November 28, 2010
Finished: November 29, 2010
Read my review.

DECEMBER 2010

In November I read 6  novels with an average rating of 4.1 stars. I read 2210 pages (an average of 368 pages per book). Five of the six books were written by new to me authors. My favorite book of the month was The Distant Hours by Kate Morton, but I also loved Stone in a Landslide by Maria Barbal.

91.  The Distant Hours, by Kate Morton

Rated:
Number of Pages: 672
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, AND Early Review (Atria)
Started: November 29, 2010
Finished: December 8, 2010
Read my review.

92.  The Warden, by Anthony Trollope

Rated:
Number of Pages: 284
Read for: New Author Challenge, AND  Classics Circuit review
Started: December 8, 2010
Finished: December 12, 2010
Read my review.

93.  Three Seconds by Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom

Rated:
Number of Pages: 485
Read for: New Author Challenge, Reading the World (Europe), Suspense-Thriller Challenge, 2010 ARC Challenge, Barnes and Noble First Look Book Club, Early Review (Sterling Publishing), AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: December 13, 2010
Finished: December 19, 2010
Read my review.

94.  Gulliver’s Travels, by Jonathan Swift

Rated:
Number of Pages: 280
Read for: New Author Challenge, AND Review for Penguin
Started: December 19, 2010
Finished: December 23, 2010
Read my review.

95.  The Truth-Teller’s Lie, by Sophie Hannah

Rated:
Number of Pages: 363
Read for: Suspense-Thriller Challenge, New Author Challenge, AND Review for Penguin
Started: December 25, 2010
Finished: December 28, 2010
Read my review.

96.  Stone in a Landslide, by Maria Barbal

Rated:
Number of Pages: 126
Read for: Reading the World (Europe), New Author Challenge, AND Review for Peirene Press
Started: December 29, 2010
Finished: December 29, 2010
Read my review.

1 Comment

  1. February 6, 2010    

    I just finished reading and reviewing Wolf Hall on my blog. I’ll be anxious to read your thoughts on it.

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.