March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

2011 in Review

All in all, 2011 was an amazing year of reading for me where I discovered many new and talented authors. I met my goal of reading 96 books (the same as last year). I read about 1000 more pages in 2011 than I did in 2010 and continued the trend of more than 75% of my reading comprising new-to-me authors. I continue to read more books written by women than men, and fiction dominates my stacks.

Some “stats” you might be interested in:

  • Number of Books Read: 96
  • Number of Pages Read: 29,766
  • Average Pages per Book: 310
  • Most Books Read in a Month: 12 (March)
  • Least Books Read in a Month: 6 (July)
  • Average Number of Books Read in a Month: 8
  • Number of Nonfiction Books Read (Percent of Total): 12 (13%)
  • Number of Fiction Books Read (Percent of Total): 84 (87%)
  • Short Story Collections Read: 4
  • Female Authors (Percent of Total): 66 (69%)
  • Male Authors (Percent of Total): 29 (30%)
  • Both Male & Female Authors: 1
  • Books Written by New-To-Me Authors (Percent of Total): 79 (82%)
  • Number of 5 star books Read (Percent of Total): 24 (25%)
  • Average Rating (All Books): 4.2

Check out my Best Books of 2011 List

The following are books read in 2011, with ratings and links to reviews. Books are rated as follows:

= Amazing, highly recommended, a must read
= Very good/good, recommended
= Okay, some people might like it
= Didn’t like it, weak writing, not recommended
= Hated it, don’t waste your time

January 2011

In January I read 10 books – 1 general non fiction, and 9 novels – with an average rating of 4.4 stars. I read 3265 pages, an average of 326 pages per book. So many of the books I read this month were excellent, but there were two stand outs: The Weird Sisters and A Hundred Secret Senses – both of which garnered 5 stars from me. Out of the ten books I read, 8 were new-to-me authors.

1.  The Doctor and The Diva, by Adrienne McDonnell

Rated:
Number of Pages: 413
Read for: Review for Viking/Penguin
Started: December 30, 2010
Finished: January 2, 2011
Read my review.

2. The Last Child, by John Hart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 373
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: January 3, 2011
Finished: January 7, 2011
Read my review.

3.  The Hundred Secret Senses, by Amy Tan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 358
Read for: Early Review (Penguin), Orange January, AND Orange Prize Project
Started: January 8, 2011
Finished: January 12, 2011
Read my review.

4.  A Thousand Rooms of Dream and Fear, by Atiq Rahimi

Rated:
Number of Pages: 155
Read for: Book Club discussion, Review for Other Press, AND Reading the World (Asia)
Started: January 13, 2011
Finished: January 14, 2011
Read my review.

5.  The Weird Sisters, by Eleanor Brown

Rated:
Number of Pages: 318
Read for: TLC Book Tour, AND Review (G.P. Putnam)
Started: January 14, 2011
Finished: January 17, 2011
Read my review.

6.  Muslim Women Reformers: Inspiring Voices Against Oppression, by Ida Lichter

Rated:
Number of Pages: 513
Read for: Review copy(Prometheus Books)
Started: December 18, 2010
Finished: January 30, 2011
Read my review.

7.  Wherever You Go, by Joan Leegant

Rated:
Number of Pages: 253
Read for: Review for WW Norton & Company AND Reading the World (Asia)
Started: January 18, 2011
Finished: January 24, 2011
Read my review.

8.  The Three Weissmanns of Westport, by Cathleen Schine

Rated:
Number of Pages: 292
Read for: Review for Picador AND Notable Books Challenge
Started: January 24, 2011
Finished: January 28, 2011
Read my review.

9.  The Bread Givers by Anzia Yezierska

Rated:
Number of Pages: 297
Read for: Reading the World (Europe) AND The Wolves Read-A-Long
Started: January 28, 2011
Finished: January 30, 2011
Read my review.

10. Caribou Island by David Vann

Rated:
Number of Pages: 293
Read for: Early Review (Harper Collins)
Started: January 30, 2011
Finished: January 31, 2011
Read my review.

February 2011

In February I read 7 books – all novels – with an average rating of 4.2 stars. I read 2296 pages, an average of  328 pages per book. There were two standouts this month: The Last Brother AND Shadow Tag. Four of the books I read were written by new-to-me authors.

11. Small Wars by Sadie Jones

Rated:
Number of Pages: 371
Read for: TLC Book Tour, Review for Harper Perennial, AND Reading the World (Asia)
Started: February 1, 2011
Finished: February 5, 2011
Read my review.

12. A Heartbeat Away by Michael Palmer

Rated:
Number of Pages: 404
Read for: Early Review (St. Martins Press)
Started: February 6, 2011
Finished: February 9, 2011
Read my review.

13. Charles Jessold, Considered as a Murderer by Wesley Stace

Rated:
Number of Pages: 384
Read for: Early Review (Picador)
Started: February 9, 2011
Finished: February 17, 2011
Read my review.

14.  The Sweet Relief of Missing Children, by Sarah Braunstein

Rated:
Number of Pages: 361
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviews Program, AND Early Review (WW Norton),
Started: February 17, 2011
Finished: February 20, 2011
Read my review.

15.  The Last Brother, by Nathacha Appanah

Rated:
Number of Pages: 164
Read for: Book Club, Early Review (Graywolf Press), AND Reading the World (Africa)
Started: February 20, 2011
Finished: February 21, 2011
Read my review.

16.  Shadow Tag, by Louise Erdrich

Rated:
Number of Pages: 255
Read for: TLC Book Tour, Early Review (Harper Collins), AND Notable Books Challenge
Started: February 22, 2011
Finished: February 23, 2011
Read my review.

17.  Letters from Home, by Kristina McMorris

Rated:
Number of Pages: 357
Read for: Early Review (Kensington Books)
Started: February 23, 2011
Finished: February 28, 2011
Read my review.

March 2011

I had a fantastic month of reading in March. I read 12 books and gave up on 1. They consisted of one novella, one screenplay and the rest novels – with an average rating of 4.4 stars (I did not rate the book I did not finish). I read 3643 pages, an average of  280 pages per book. Five star books included: The Postmistress and Every Last One – both memorable and amazing books . Nine of the books I read were written by new-to-me authors.

18.  Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 272
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: February 28, 2011
Finished: March 2, 2011
Read my review.

19.  Sing You Home, by Jodi Picoult

Rated:
Number of Pages: 480
Read for: Early Review (Atria Books) AND Chunkster Challenge
Started: March 3, 2011
Finished: March 5, 2011
Read my review.

20.  The Postmistress, by Sarah Blake

Rated:
Number of Pages: 352
Read for: TLC Book Tours, AND Early Review (Penguin)
Started: March 5, 2011
Finished: March 6, 2011
Read my review.

21.  A Doll’s House, by Henrik Ibsen

Rated:
Number of Pages: 93
Read for: A Year of Feminist Classics
Started: March 6, 2011
Finished: March 7, 2011
Read my review.

22.  Island Girl, by Lynda Simmons

Rated:
Number of Pages: 435
Read for: Early Review (Penguin)
Started: March 8, 2011
Finished: March 11, 2011
Read my review.

23.  Emily and Einstein, by Linda Francis Lee

Rated:
Number of Pages: 356
Read for: Early Review (Library Thing Early Review Program and St. Martin’s Press)
Started: March 12, 2011
Finished: March 14, 2011
Read my review.

24.  Next World Novella, by Matthias Politycki

Rated:
Number of Pages: 138
Read for: Early Review (Peirene Press), AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: March 15, 2011
Finished: March 15, 2011
Read my review.

25.  Picking Bones From Ash, by Marie Mutsuki Mockett

Rated:
Number of Pages: 282
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Early Review (Graywolf Press), AND Reading the World (Asia)
Started: March 16, 2011
Finished: March 18, 2011
Read my review.

26.  Every Last One, by Anna Quindlen

Rated:
Number of Pages: 299
Read for: TLC Book Tours, AND Early Review (Random House)
Started: March 18, 2011
Finished: March 20, 2011
Read my review.

N/A  Conversation in the Cathedral, by Mario Vargas Llosa

Rated: DNF
Number of Pages: 601 (completed 63 pages before giving up)
Read for: The Wolves Read-A-Long, AND  Reading the Nobels
Started: March 20, 2011
Finished: DNF
Read my thoughts.

27.  Separate Beds, by Elizabeth Buchan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 372
Read for: Early Review (Viking/Penguin)
Started: March 20, 2011
Finished: March 25, 2011
Read my review.

28.  The Fates Will Find Their Way, by Hannah Pittard

Rated:
Number of Pages: 240
Read for: Early Review (ECCO/Harper Collins)
Started: March 26, 2011
Finished: March 29, 2011
Read my review.

29. That Old Cape Magic, by Richard Russo

Rated:
Number of Pages: 261
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, AND Notable Books Challenge
Started: March 30, 2011
Finished: April 1, 2011
Read my review.

APRIL 2011

In April, I read 8 books (5 novels, 1 collection of short stories, 1 memoir, and one general nonfiction), with an average rating of  4.3 stars. I read 2258 pages, an average of  282 pages per book. My favorites this month were Being With Animals and Galore. All the books I read in April were written by new-to-me authors.

30.  Herland, by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 143
Read for: A Year of Feminist Classics
Started: April 2, 2011
Finished: April 4, 2011
Read my review.

31.  The Raising, by Laura Kasischke

Rated: 
Number of Pages: 461
Read for: The Chunkster Challenge, AND Early Review (Harper Perennial)
Started: April 5, 2011
Finished: April 9, 2011
Read my review.

32.  For Sale By Owner, by Kelcey Parker

Rated:
Number of Pages: 131
Read for: Early Review (Kore Press)
Started: April 9, 2011
Finished: April 9, 2011
Read my review.

33.  Being With Animals, by Barbara J. King

Rated:
Number of Pages: 228
Read for: Early Review (Doubleday)
Started: April 9, 2011
Finished: April 13, 2011
Read my review.

34.  Rose in a Storm, by Jon Katz

Rated:
Number of Pages: 217
Read for: Pleasure
Started: April 9, 2011
Finished: April 11, 2011
Read my review.

35.  Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted, by Bridget Asher

Rated:
Number of Pages: 416
Read for: TLC Book Tour, AND Early Review (Bantam)
Started: April 16, 2011
Finished: April 16, 2011
Read my review.

36.  The Wilder Life, by Wendy McClure

Rated:
Number of Pages: 327
Read for: Early Review (Riverhead), AND Memorable Memoirs Challenge
Started: April 17, 2011
Finished: April 22, 2011
Read my review.

37.  Galore, by Michael Crummey

Rated:
Number of Pages: 335
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Reading the World (North America), AND Early Review (Other Press)
Started: April 23, 2011
Finished: April 30, 2011
Read my review.

MAY 2011

In May, I read 9 books (6 novels, 2 picture books, and one biography), with an average rating of  4.2 stars. I read 2274 pages, an average of  253 pages per book. My favorite read was The Paperbark Shoe which just blew me away. All but one of the books I read in May were written by new-to-me authors.

38. Wrecker, by Summer Wood

Rated:
Number of Pages: 287
Read for: TLC Book Tour, AND Early Review (Bloomsbury)
Started: May 1, 2011
Finished: May 3, 2011
Read my review.

39.  Manni AND The Turtle’s Dream and Keys, by Banrali

Rated: for Manni; for Turtle’s Dream
Number of Pages: 58
Read for: Author request for review
Started: May 4, 2011
Finished: May 4, 2011
Read my review.

40.  The Paperbark Shoe, by Goldie Goldbloom

Rated:
Number of Pages: 370
Read for: Early Review (Picador) AND Reading the World (Australia)
Started: May 4, 2011
Finished: May 9, 2011
Read my review.

41.  I’d Know You Anywhere, by Laura Lippman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 370
Read for: Pleasure
Started: May 10, 2011
Finished: May 14, 2011
Read my review.

42.  The Convert, by Deborah Baker

Rated:
Number of Pages: 226
Read for: BOOK CLUB, AND Early Review (Graywolf Press)
Started: May 14, 2011
Finished: May 17, 2011
Read my review.

43. The London Train, by Tess Hadley

Rated:
Number of Pages: 336
Read for: Orange Prize Project, TLC Book Tour, AND Early Review (Harper Perennial)
Started: May 19, 2011
Finished: May 23, 2011
Read my review.

44.  The Secret Daughter, by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Rated:
Number of Pages: 342
Read for: Early Review (Harper Collins)
Started: May 24, 2011
Finished: May 26, 2011
Read my review.

45.  The Season of Second Chances by Diane Meier

Rated:
Number of Pages: 285
Read for: Early Review (St. Martin’s Press)
Started: May 27, 2011
Finished: May 30, 2011
Read my review.

JUNE 2011

In June, I read 9 books (6 novels, 1 book of essays/photographs, and 2 memoirs), with an average rating of  4.0 stars. I read 3010 pages, an average of  334 pages per book. My favorite reads were Unbroken and The Boy in the Moon, both nonfiction books. All the books I read in June were written by new-to-me authors.

46.  The Last Time I Saw Paris by Lynn Sheene

Rated:
Number of Pages: 354
Read for: Early Review (Penguin)
Started: May 30, 2011
Finished: June 3, 2011
Read my review.

47.  Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Rated:
Number of Pages: 406
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group and Notable Books Challenge
Started: May 4, 2011
Finished: May 6, 2011
Read my review.

48. Tomorrow Pamplona by Jan Van Mersbergen

Rated:
Number of Pages: 189
Read for: Early Review (Peirene Press), AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: June 7, 2011
Finished: June 7, 2011
Read my review.

49.  Down from Cascom Mountain by Ann Joslin Williams

Rated:
Number of Pages: 324
Read for: TLC Book Tour, Early Review (Bloomsbury)
Started: June 8, 2011
Finished: June 13, 2011
Read my review.

50.  The Blossoming of the World by Brian H. Peterson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 235
Read for: Early Review (Tell Me Press)
Started: June 11, 2011
Finished: June 19, 2011
Read my review.

51. The Boy in the Moon by Ian Brown

Rated:
Number of Pages: 288
Read for: Early Review (St. Martin’s Press), AND Memorable Memoir Challenge
Started: June 15, 2011
Finished: June 18, 2011
Read my review.

52.  The Wedding Writer by Susan Schneider

Rated:
Number of Pages: 357
Read for: Early Review (St. Martin’s Griffin)
Started: June 19, 2011
Finished: June 22, 2011
Read my review.

53.  Anthropology of an American Girl by Hilary Thayer Hamann

Rated:
Number of Pages: 597
Read for: TLC Book Tours, Early Review (Spiegel & Grau), and Chunkster Challenge
Started: June 23, 2011
Finished: June 30, 2011
Read my review.

54.  The Descent of Man by Kevin Desinger

Rated:
Number of Pages: 260
Read for: Early Review (Unbridled Books)
Started: June 28, 2011
Finished: July 1, 2011
Read my review.

JULY 2011

In July, I read 6 novels with an average rating of  4.4 stars. I read 1998 pages, an average of  333 pages per book. My favorite reads were a tie between The Tiger’s Wife, Everything Beautiful Began After and The Long Song – all five star books! All the books except for one (Everything Beautiful Began After) were written by new-to-me authors.

55. The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht

Rated:
Number of Pages: 338
Read for: Orange Prize Project, AND Orange July
Started: July 2, 2011
Finished: July 8, 2011
Read my review.

56.  Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch

Rated:
Number of Pages: 295
Read for: Early Review (Doubleday), Orange Prize Project,  AND Orange July
Started: July 9, 2011
Finished: July 15, 2011
Read my review.

57.  The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives by Lola Shoneyin

Rated:
Number of Pages: 280
Read for: Early Review (William Morrow), Orange Prize Project, Reading the World (Africa), AND Orange July
Started: July 16, 2011
Finished: July 20, 2011
Read my review.

58.  Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

Rated:
Number of Pages: 402
Read for: Early Review (Harper Perennial), Reading the World (Europe), AND TLC Book Tour
Started: July 20, 2011
Finished: July 22, 2011
Read my review.

59.  The Reservoir by John Milliken Thompson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 345
Read for: BOOK CLUB, AND Early Review (Other Press)
Started: July 23, 2011
Finished: July 26, 2011
Read my review.

60.  The Long Song by Andrea Levy

Rated:
Number of Pages: 338
Read for: Early Review (Picador),  Orange Prize Project, Notable Books Challenge, AND Orange July
Started: July 26, 2011
Finished: July 31, 2011
Read my review.

AUGUST 2011

   

In August, I read 7 books (two nonfiction and 5 novels) with an average rating of  4.0 stars. I read 2730 pages, an average of  390 pages per book. My favorite read was Steinbeck: A Life in Letters. Five of the seven books were written by new-to-me authors.

61.  Steinbeck: A Life in Letters, edited by  Elaine Steinbeck and Robert Wallsten

Rated:
Number of Pages: 898
Read for: The Classics Circuit
Started: July 31, 2011
Finished: August 16, 2011
Read my review.

62.  The Homecoming of Samuel Lake by Jenny Wingfield

Rated:
Number of Pages: 330
Read for: TLC Book Tour
Started: August 2, 2011
Finished: August 7, 2011
Read my review.

63.   By Nightfall by Michael Cunningham

Rated:
Number of Pages: 238
Read for: BOOK CLUB, AND Early Review (Picador)
Started: August 17, 2011
Finished: August 20, 2011
Read my review.

64.  Mice by Gordon Reece

Rated:
Number of Pages: 330
Read for: Early Review (Viking/Penguin)
Started: August 21, 2011
Finished: August 21, 2011
Read my review.

65.  Darkness, My Old Friend by Lisa Unger

Rated:
Number of Pages: 360
Read for: Early Review (Crown Publishers)
Started: August 22, 2011
Finished: August 25, 2011
Read my review.

66.  Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

Rated:
Number of Pages: 324
Read for: Early Review (Penguin/Viking)
Started: August 26, 2011
Finished: August 29, 2011
Read my review.

67.  The River of Forgetting by Jane Rowan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 250
Read for: Early Review (Booksmyth Press), AND Memorable Memoirs Challenge
Started: August 30, 2011
Finished: September 1, 2011
Read my review.

SEPTEMBER 2011

 

In September, I read 7 novels with an average rating of  4.25 stars. I read 2086 pages, an average of  298 pages per book. My favorite read was a tie between You Are My Only and Salvage the Bones. Five of the seven books were written by new-to-me authors.

68.  You Are My Only, by Beth Kephart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 240
Read for: Early Review (Egmont USA)
Started: September 1, 2011
Finished: September 3, 2011
Read my review.

69.  Awakening by S. J. Bolton

Rated:
Number of Pages: 392
Read for: Pleasure
Started: September 4, 2011
Finished: September 7, 2011
Read my review.

70. Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward

Rated:
Number of Pages: 258
Read for: Early Review (Bloomsbury), AND  TLC Book Tour
Started: September 8, 2011
Finished: September 11, 2011
Read my review.

71.  Maybe This Time by Alois Hotschnig

Rated: unrated
Number of Pages: 107
Read for: Early Review (Peirene Press) AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: September 12, 2011
Finished: September 12, 2011
Read my review.

72.  The Twisted Thread by Charlotte Bacon

Rated:
Number of Pages: 374
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviewers, AND Early Review (Hyperion Voice)
Started: September 12, 2011
Finished: September 18, 2011
Read my review.

73.  The True Memories of Little K by Adrienne Sharp

Rated:
Number of Pages: 373
Read for: BOOK CLUB, and Early Review (Picador), AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: September 19, 2011
Finished: September 28, 2011
Read my review.

74.  Touch and Go by Thad Nodine

Rated:
Number of Pages: 342
Read for: Early Review (Unbridled Books)
Started: September 27, 2011
Finished: September 29, 2011
Read my review.

OCTOBER 2011

In October, I read 5 novels, 1 collection of short stories, 1 novella, 1 memoir, and had 1 DNF novel –  with an average rating of  3.8 stars. I read 2097 pages, an average of  233 pages per book. My favorite read was a tie between The Marriage Artist and Diane Simmons collection of short stories. Seven of the nine books were written by new-to-me authors.

75.  Falling Together by Marisa de los Santos

Rated:
Number of Pages: 368
Read for: Early Review (William Morrow)
Started: September 30, 2011
Finished: October 7, 2011
Read my review.

Me Again by Keith Cronin

Rated: (DNF)
Number of Pages: Read 75 before quitting
Read for: TLC Book Tours
Started: October 8, 2011
Finished: October 10, 2011
Read my thoughts.

76.  State of Wonder by Ann Patchett

Rated:
Number of Pages: 353
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: October 11, 2011
Finished: October 16, 2011
Read my review.

77.  Solitaria by Genni Gunn

Rated:
Number of Pages: 250
Read for: Early Review and Tour for Signature Editions AND Reading the World (Europe)
Started: October 17, 2011
Finished: October 22, 2011
Read my review.

78.  The Marriage Artist by Andrew Winer

Rated:
Number of Pages: 372
Read for: BOOK CLUB and Early Review (Picador) and Reading the World (Europe)
Started: October 22, 2011
Finished: October 22, 2011
Read my review.

79.  Love at First Bark by Julie Klam

Rated:
Number of Pages: 173
Read for: Early Review (Riverhead Books) AND Memorable Memoir Challenge
Started: October 22, 2011
Finished: October 22, 2011
Read my review.

80. Love at Absolute Zero by Christopher Meeks

Rated:
Number of Pages: 297
Read for: Early Review for White Whiskers Books
Started: October 23, 2011
Finished: October 27. 2011
Read my review.

81.  Little America by Diane Simmons

Rated:
Number of Pages: 115
Read for: Early Review (Ohio State University Press)
Started: October 28, 2011
Finished: October 30, 2011
Read my review

82. Schoolgirl by Osamu Dazai

Rated:
Number of Pages: 94
Read for: Early Review (One Peace Books), Reading the World (Asia)
Started: October 31, 2011
Finished: October 31, 2011
Read my review

NOVEMBER 2011

     

In November I read 5 novels, 1 collection of short stories, and 1 children’s classic –  with an average rating of  4.2 stars. I read 2012 pages, an average of  287 pages per book. My favorite read was a tie between The Marriage Plot and Bruce Machart’s collection of short stories. Five of the seven books were written by new-to-me authors.

83.  The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom

Rated:
Number of Pages: 368
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: November 1, 2011
Finished: November 6, 2011
Read my review

84.  The Taste of Salt by Martha Southgate

Rated:
Number of Pages: 277
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Early Review (Algonquin Books)
Started: November 6, 2011
Finished: November 7, 2011
Read my review

85.  Tides of War by Stella Tillyard

Rated:
Number of Pages: 349
Read for: Early Review (Picador)
Started: November 8, 2011
Finished: November 16, 2011
Read my review

86.  The Marriage Plot  by Jeffrey Eugenides

Rated:
Number of Pages: 406
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: November 16, 2011
Finished: November 26, 2011
Read my review

87.  Men in the Making by Bruce Machart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 187
Read for: Early Review (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Started: November 27, 2011
Finished: November 29, 2011
Read my review

88.  Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater

Rated:
Number of Pages: 139
Read for: Pleasure
Started: November 29, 2011
Finished: November 29, 2011
Read my review

89.  The Devil’s Ribbon by D.E. Meredith

Rated:
Number of Pages: 286
Read for: Early Review (St. Martins)
Started: November 29, 2011
Finished: December 1, 2011
Read my review

DECEMBER 2011

December was a fantastic month of reading. I read 7 books (1 collection of short stories, 2 memoirs, and 4 novels) with an average rating of 4.4. I read 2097 pages, an average of  299 pages per book. I rated both Midsummer Night in the Workhouse AND We The Animals 5 stars; and three other books garner 4.5 stars. Six of the seven books were written by new to me authors.

90.  The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Rated:
Number of Pages: 374
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: December 3, 2011
Finished: December 5, 2011
Read my review

91.  Maman’s Homesick Pie, by Donia Bijan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 250
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Early Review (Algonquin Books), Memorable Memoir Challenge
Started: December 6, 2011
Finished: December 8, 2011
Read my review

92.  The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern

Rated:
Number of Pages: 387
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: December 9, 2011
Finished: December 13, 2011
Read my review

93.  The Puppy That Came for Christmas by Megan Rix

Rated:
Number of Pages: 246
Read for: Early Review (Penguin/Plume) and Memorable Memoirs Challenge
Started: December 14, 2011
Finished: December 16, 2011
Read my review

94.  Midsummer Night in the Workhouse by Diana Athill

Rated:
Number of Pages: 196
Read for: Early Review (House of Anansi Press)
Started: December 17, 2011
Finished: December 19, 2011
Read my review

95.  We the Animals by Justin Torres

Rated:
Number of Pages: 127
Read for: Pleasure
Started: December 18, 2011
Finished: December 19, 2011
Read my review

96.  River of Smoke by Amitav Ghosh

Rated:
Number of Pages: 517
Read for: Pleasure
Started: December 21, 2011
Finished: December 31, 2011
Read my review

1 Comment

  1. Liz Caughlin Liz Caughlin
    January 6, 2012    

    Thanks for this site! I devour books and appreciate your list and reviews. Liz

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.