June 2017
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers

pikerpresslogo.jpg

AWARDS


BBAW AWARDS


Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

2012 In Review

Twenty-twelve was an interesting year for me with personal challenges and losses and a new focus on my latest obsession: quilting and sewing. I read 38 fewer books and nearly 10,000 fewer pages than in 2011, but the quality of my reading was still excellent with 31% of the books I read garnering a 5 star rating (compared to 25% in 2011). Overall, the books I finished in 2012 averaged a whooping 4.3 stars (a tenth of a point higher than in 2011).

Ninety-eight percent of my reading was in fiction, and female authors dominated my stacks. Seventy-four percent of my reading involved new-to-me authors. I also managed to read three short story collections, nearly the same as in 2011 when I read four.

Here is the breakdown of my reading by the numbers:

  • Number of Books Read: 58
  • Number of Pages Read: 20,121
  • Average Pages per Book: 347
  • Most Books Read in a Month: 8 (February)
  • Least Books Read in a Month: 2 (December)
  • Average Number of Books Read in a Month: 4.8
  • Number of Non Fiction Books Read: 1
  • Number of Fiction Books Read: 57
  • Short Story Collections Read: 3
  • Female Authors (Percent of Total): 43 (74%)
  • Male Authors (Percent of Total): 15 (26%)
  • Books Written by New-To-Me Authors (Percent of Total): 43 (74%)
  • Number of 5 Star Books Read (Percent of Total): 18 (31%)
  • Average Rating of All Books Combined: 4.3 stars

Check out my BEST BOOKS read in 2012 here.

The following are books read in 2012, with ratings and links to reviews. Books are rated as follows:

 = Amazing, highly recommended, a must read, one of the best of the year
= Very good/good, recommended
= Just Okay for me, although some people might like it
  = Weak writing, not recommended
= Ugh, don’t waste your time

January 2012

   

January was a slow month of reading for me. Even still, I managed to finish four novels and a collection of novellas. I read 1872 pages (an average of 374 pages per book). The average rating for January books was 4.1 stars. My favorite read of the month was The Street Sweeper. Three of the books I read were by new to me authors.

1.  The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 640
Read for: Early Review (Riverhead Books), and The Chunkster Challenge
Started: January 1, 2012
Finished: January 8, 2012
Read my review

2.  Scottsboro by Ellen Feldman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 359
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviewers, Orange Prize Project (and Orange January), Literary Novels: A Personal Challenge
Started: January 8, 2012
Finished: January 11, 2012
Read my review.

3.  The Artist of Disappearance by Anita Desai

Rated:
Number of Pages: 156
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviewers
Started: January 12, 2012
Finished: January 14, 2012
Read my review.

4.  Swamplandia by Karen Russell

Rated:
Number of Pages: 316
Read for: Orange Prize Project (and Orange January)
Started: January 15, 2012
Finished: January 23, 2012
Read my review.

5. The Invisible Ones by Stef Penney

Rated:
Number of Pages: 401
Read for: Early Review (G.P. Putnam)
Started: January 23, 2012
Finished: January 30, 2012
Read my review.

February 2012

February was a good month of reading for me. I read 8 books (6 novels and 2 novellas) for a total of  2171 pages (an average of  271 pages per book). The average rating for books read in February was 4.5 stars (half of the books I read were rated a 5). My favorite read of the month was a toss up between Running the Rift, Come In and Cover Me,and The Brothers. Seven of the books I read were by new to me authors.

6.  Running the Rift by Naomi Benaron

Rated:
Number of Pages: 365
Read for: Early Review (Algonquin), Reading the World (Africa), AND BOOK CLUB
Started: January 30, 2012
Finished: February 3, 2012
Read my review

7.  Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Rated:
Number of Pages: 200
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, AND Read the Nobels Challenge
Started: February 3, 2012
Finished: February 6, 2012
Read my review.

8.  In the Time of the Feast of Flowers by Tina Egnoski

Rated:
Number of Pages: 133
Read for: Early Review (Texas Review Press)
Started: February 7, 2012
Finished: February 8, 2012
Read my review.

9.  Come In And Cover Me by Gin Phillips

Rated:
Number of Pages: 342
Read for: Early Review (Riverhead)
Started: February 9, 2012
Finished: February 13, 2012
Read my review.

10.  No Mark Upon Her by Deborah Crombie

Rated:
Number of Pages: 368
Read for: Early Review (William Morrow)
Started: February 14, 2012
Finished: February 19, 2012
Read my review

11. The Brothers by Asko Sahlberg

Rated:
Number of Pages: 122
Read for: Early Review (Peirene Press), Reading the World (Europe)
Started: February 19, 2012
Finished: February 19, 2012
Read my review.

12.  Blue Monday by Nicci French

Rated:
Number of Pages: 322
Read for: Early Review (Pamela Dorman Books)
Started: February 20, 2012
Finished: February 25, 2012
Read my review.

13.  Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 319 pages
Read for: Early Review (Picador), Literary Novels from My Stacks Challenge
Started: February 26, 2012
Finished: February 29, 2012
Read my review.

March 2012

In March I read 6 books (4 novels and 2 collections of short stories) for a total of  2458 pages (an average of 409 pages per book). The average rating for books read in March was 4.5 stars. My favorite read of the month was Birds of a Lesser Paradise. Five of the six books I read were by new to me authors.

14.  11/22/63 by Stephen King

Rated:
Number of Pages: 842
Read for: Chunky Book Club and Chunkster Challenge
Started: March 1, 2012
Finished: March 12, 2012
Read my review.

15.  A Good American by Alex George

Rated:
Number of Pages: 381
Read for: Early Review (Amy Einhorn Books)
Started: March 13, 2012
Finished: March 18, 2012
Read my review.

16.  The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye

Rated:
Number of Pages: 432
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Early Review (Amy Einhorn Books)
Started: March 19, 2012
Finished: March 25, 2012
Read my review.

17.  The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

Rated:
Number of Pages: 350
Read for: Early Review (Myrmidon Books), and Reading the World (Asia)
Started: March 26, 2012
Finished: March 31, 2012
Read my review.

18.  One More Year by Sana Krasikov

Rated:
Number of Pages: 229
Read for: Literary Novels from My Stacks Challenge
Started: March 26, 2012
Finished: March 31, 2012
Read my review.

19.  Birds of A Lesser Paradise by Megan Mayhew Bergman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 224
Read for: Pleasure
Started: March 27, 2012
Finished: March 30, 2012
Read my review.

April 2012

In April I read 4 books (1 memoir and 3 novels, one which I did not finish) for a total of  1354 pages (an average of 338 pages per book). The average rating for books read in April was 3.7 stars (the DNF was unrated). All of the books I read were by new to me authors.

20.  Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 336
Read for: Early Review (Amy Einhorn Books)
Started: April 3, 2012
Finished: April 11, 2012
Read my review.

21.  The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Rated:
Number of Pages: 387
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: April 12, 2012
Finished: April 18, 2012
Read my review.

22.  The Testament of Jesse Lamb by Jane Rogers

Rated: unrated – DNF
Number of Pages: 256 (finished 120 pages)
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Early Review (Harper Perennial)
Started: April 19, 2012
Finished: April 22, 2012
Read my thoughts.

23.  A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn

Rated:
Number of Pages: 375
Read for: Literary Novels from My Stacks Challenge
Started: April 22, 2012
Finished: April 29, 2012
Read my review.

May 2012

 

In May I read 7 books (7 novels) for a total of  2002 pages (an average of 286 pages per book). The average rating for books read in May was 4.5 stars. Despite having four books garnering 5 star reviews, my favorite read of the month was (by far) Small Damages. Five of the seven books I read were by new to me authors.

24.  The Submission by Amy Waldman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 337
Read for: Early Review (Picador), Orange Prize Project, AND Most Notable Challenge
Started: April 29, 2012
Finished: May 8, 2012
Read my review.

25. The Lola Quartet by Emily St. John Mandel

Rated:
Number of Pages: 288
Read for: Early Review (Unbridled Books)
Started: May 9, 2012
Finished: May 14, 2012
Read my review.

26.  Overseas by Beatriz Williams

Rated:
Number of Pages: 464
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, Early Review (Putnam)
Started: May 15, 2012
Finished: May 20, 2012
Read my review.

27.  Make it Stay by Joan Frank

Rated:
Number of Pages: 176
Read for: TLC Book Tour
Started: May 20, 2012
Finished: May 22, 2012
Read my review.

28.  Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka

Rated:
Number of Pages: 129
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: May 22, 2012
Finished: May 23, 2012
Read my review.

29.  The Elephant Keeper by Christopher Nicholson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 304
Read for: Library Thing Early Reviewers AND Literary Novels from my Stacks Challenge
Started: May 24, 2012
Finished: May 28, 2012
Read my review.

30.  Small Damages by Beth Kephart

Rated:
Number of Pages: 304
Read for: Pleasure
Started: May 29, 2012
Finished: June 1, 2012
Read my review.

June 2012

  

June was a tough month for me. I read only 3 novels for a total of  1382 pages (an average of 460 pages per book). The average rating for books read in June was 3.6 stars. My favorite read of the month was hands down The Memory of Love. All three books I read were by new to me authors.

31.  The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forna

Rated:
Number of Pages: 450
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, Chunky Book Club, Orange Prize Project, Literary Novels from myStacks challenge, and Reading the World (Africa)
Started: June 2, 2012
Finished: June 17, 2012
Read my review.

32.  With My Body by Nikki Gemmell

Rated:
Number of Pages: 462
Read for: BOOK CLUB and Chunkster Challenge
Started: June 17, 2012
Finished: June 23, 2012
Read my review.

33. The Shoemaker’s Wife by Adriana Trigiani

Rated:
Number of Pages: 470
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group and Chunkster Challenge
Started: June 24, 2012
Finished: July 3, 2012
Read my review.

July 2012

Another slow month of reading for me in July with 3 books (all novels) for a total of 1294 pages (an average of 431 pages per book). The average rating of books read in July was a whooping 4.8 stars with two books earning a five star rating. My favorite of the month was The Absolutist. All books were by new to me authors.

34.  The Emperor of Lies by Steve Sem-Sandberg

Rated:
Number of Pages: 664
Read for: Chunkster Challenge, Early Review (Picador)
Started: July 4, 2012
Finished: July 26, 2012
Read my review.

35.  The Absolutist by John Boyne

Rated:
Number of Pages: 309
Read for: BOOK CLUB, Early Review (Other Press)
Started: July 8, 2012
Finished: July 12, 2012
Read my review.

37.  The Personal History of Rachel Dupree by Ann Weisgarber

Rated:
Number of Pages: 321
Read for: Orange July, Orange Prize Project, and Reading Literary Novels from my Stacks Challenge
Started: July 25, 2012
Finished: July 28, 2012
Read my review.

August 2012

 

In August I read 7 novels with a total of  2162 pages (an average of 309 pages per book). The average rating for books read in August was 4.5 stars (three out of seven books garnered a 5 star rating). My favorite read of the month was a toss up between The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Plague of Doves. Three of the seven books I read were by new to me authors.

38. Gold by Chris Cleave

Rated:
Number of Pages: 321
Read for: Early Review (Simon & Schuster)
Started: July 29, 2012
Finished: August 6, 2012
Read my review.

39.  The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

Rated:
Number of Pages: 336
Read for: TLC Book Tours
Started: August 7, 2012
Finished: August 11, 2012
Read my review.

40.  The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar

Rated:
Number of Pages: 306
Read for: TLC Book Tours
Started: August 11, 2012
Finished: August 15, 2012
Read my review.

41.  Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes

Rated:
Number of Pages: 401
Read for: Early Review (Harper Collins)
Started: August 16, 2012
Finished: August 23, 2012
Read my review.

42.   And When She Was Good by Laura Lippman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 314
Read for: Early Review (Harper Collins)
Started: August 24, 2012
Finished: August 25, 2012
Read my review.

43.   The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich

Rated:
Number of Pages: 314
Read for: Pleasure
Started: August 25, 2012
Finished: August 30, 2012
Read my review.

44.  The Murder of Halland by Pia Juul

Rated:
Number of Pages: 170
Read for: Early Review (Peirene Press)
Started: August 30, 2012
Finished: August 31, 2012
Read my review.

September 2012

 

In September, I read 3 novels with a total of  1475 pages (an average of 492 pages per book). The average rating for books read in September was 4.0 stars. My favorite read of the month was Fall of Giants by Ken Follett. One of the three books I read was by a new to me author.

45.  Home by Toni Morrison

Rated:
Number of Pages: 145
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo group and Read the Nobels Challenge
Started: September 1, 2012
Finished: September 2, 2012
Read my review.

46.  The Fall of Giants by Ken Follett

Rated:
Number of Pages: 985
Read for: Chunky Book Club, Chunkster Challenge
Started: September 2, 2012
Finished: September 23, 2012
Read my review.

47.  The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman

Rated:
Number of Pages: 345
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group
Started: September 23, 2012
Finished: September 28, 2012
Read my review.

October 2012

  

In October, I read 4 novels with a total of  1408 pages (an average of 352 pages per book). The average rating for books read in October was 4.0 stars. My favorite read of the month was The Lighthouse Road by Peter Geye. Three of the four books I read were by new to me authors.

48.  The Other Woman by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Rated:
Number of Pages: 416
Read for: Early Review (Tor Forge)
Started: October 1, 2012
Finished: October 9, 2012
Read my review.

49.  Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones

Rated:
Number of Pages: 352
Read for: Booktopia
Started: October 10, 2012
Finished: October 14, 2012
Read my review.

50.  In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez

Rated:
Number of Pages: 336
Read for: Bookies Too Yahoo Group, Reading the World (North America)
Started: October 15, 2012
Finished: October 23, 2012
Read my review.

51. The Lighthouse Road by Peter Geye

Rated:
Number of Pages: 304
Read for: Early Review (Unbridled Books)
Started: October 25, 2012
Finished: October 30, 2012
Read my review.

November 2012

In November, I read 5 books – 4 novels and 1 novella – with a total of  1525 pages (an average of 305 pages per book). The average rating for books read in November was 4.4 stars (four out of five books garnered a 4.5 star rating). My favorite read of the month was Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver. Four of the five books I read were by new to me authors.

52.  The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson

Rated:
Number of Pages: 443
Read for: Booktopia
Started: October 31, 2012
Finished: November 19, 2012
Read my review.

53.  Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

Rated:
Number of Pages: 448
Read for: TLC Book Tour
Started: November 8, 2012
Finished: November 11, 2012
Read my review.

54. The Dangers Of Proximal Alphabets by Kathleen Alcott

Rated:
Number of Pages: 212
Read for: Early Review (Other Press)
Started: November 19, 2012
Finished: November 22, 2012
Read my review.

55.  Sea of Ink by Richard Weihe

Rated:
Number of Pages: 118
Read for: Early Review (Peirene Press)
Started: November 23, 2012
Finished: November 25, 2012
Read my review.

56.  Love Slave by Jennifer Spiegel

Rated:
Number of Pages: 304
Read for: Early Review (Unbridled Books)
Started: November 26, 2012
Finished: November 30, 2012
Read my review.

December 2012

In December, I eeked out 2 novels with a total of 1018 pages (an average of 509 pages per book). The average rating for books read in December was 4.75 stars. My favorite read of the month was The Invisible Bridge. Both books I read were by new to me authors.

57.  The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer

Rated:
Number of Pages: 602
Read for: The Chunkster Challenge, The Chunky Book Club, The Orange Project, and Reading the World (Europe)
Started: November 30, 2012
Finished: December 16, 2012
Read my review.

58.  The Stockholm Octavo by Karen Engelmann

Rated: 4hStars
Number of Pages: 416
Read for: Early Review (Ecco) and Reading the World (Europe)
Started: December 17, 2012
Finished: December 31, 2012
Read my review.

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.

Categories

Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.

Fabric

Bee Groups

DoGoodStitchesblogbutton

Book Giveaways

None Current.