Return to The Lists

Bellwether Prize for Fiction: 2000 – Present

The Bellwether Prize, which was established in 2000 by Barbara Kingsolver and is funded entirely by her, was created to promote fiction that addresses issues of social justice and the impact of culture and politics on human relationships. Awards are granted biennially to the author of a previously unpublished novel of high literary caliber that exemplifies the prize’s founding principles.

Learn more about the prize by visiting the website.

Books I have read are highlighted in blue. Follow links to my reviews.


Good Kings Bad Kings by Susan Nussbaum  (Algonquin Books)


Running the Rift by Naomi Benaron (Algonquin Books) – read my review


The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow (Algonquin Books)


Mudbound by Hillary Jordan (Algonquin Books)  – read my review


Correcting the Landscape by Marjorie Kowalski Cole (HarperCollins)


The Book of Dead Birds by Gayle Brandeis (HarperCollins)


Kissing the Virgin’s Mouth by Donna Gershten (HarperCollins)

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial