Return to The Lists

Commonwealth Writers Prize (Best Book): 1987 – Present

The Commonwealth Foundation established the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 1987 to encourage and reward the upsurge of new Commonwealth fiction and ensure that works of merit reach a wider audience outside their country of origin. To read more about the Prize, visit the Commonwealth Foundation website.

Books I’ve Read are Highlighted in Blue; follow the link to my reviews

1987 – Olive Senior, Summer Lightning
1988 – Festus Iyayi, Heroes
1989 – Janet Frame, The Carpathians
1990 – Mordecai Richler, Solomon Gursky Was Here
1991 – David Malouf, The Great World
1992 – Rohinton Mistry, Such a Long Journey
1993 – Alex Miller, The Ancestor Game
1994 – Vikram Seth, A Suitable Boy
1995 – Louis de Bernières, Captain Corelli’s Mandolin
1996 – Rohinton Mistry, A Fine Balance
1997 – Earl Lovelace, Salt
1998 – Peter Carey, Jack Maggs
1999 – Murray Bail, Eucalyptus
2000 – John Maxwell Coetzee, Disgrace (Read my review)
2001 – Peter Carey, True History of the Kelly Gang
2002 – Richard Flanagan, Gould’s Book of Fish
2003 – Austin Clarke, The Polished Hoe
2004 – Caryl Phillips, A Distant Shore
2005 – Andrea Levy, Small Island
2006 – Kate Grenville, The Secret River (Read my review)
2007 – Lloyd Jones, Mr. Pip
2008 – Lawrence Hill, The Book of Negroes (Read my review)


Best Book – Christos Tsiolkas (Australia), The Slap
Best First Book – Mohammed Hanif (Pakistan), A Case of Exploding Mangoes


Best Book – Rana Dasgupta (Britain), Solo
Best First Book – Glenda Guest (Australia) , Siddon Rock


Best Book – Aminatta Forna (Africa), The Memory of Love (read my review)
Best First Book – Craig Cliff (South East Asia and Pacific), A Man Melting


Best Book – Shehan Karunatilaka (Sri Lanka), Chinaman: The Legend of Pradeep Mathew


Best Book -Lisa O’Donnell (UK) The Death of Bees (read my review)

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial