April 2018
« Jan    

My Material Is Copyrighted

Site Meter

Sites Where I Review Books

LibraryThing Early Reviewers




Winner Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2008
Shortlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2009, 2010
Longlisted for Best Literary Fiction Blog - 2011 Shortlisted Best Written Book Blog - 2010

Costa/Whitbread Award Winners and Finalists: 1971 – Present

The Costa Book Awards recognizes books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.

The Costa Book Awards currently awards prizes in five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book.

The Costa Book Awards started 1971 as the Whitbread Literary Awards. From 1985 they were known as the Whitbread Book Awards until 2006, when Costa Coffee took over ownership – the year that both Costa and the Book Awards celebrated their 35 th anniversary.

Since the introduction of the overall Book of the Year Award in 1985, it has been won seven times by a novel, three times by a first novel, five times by a biography, five times by a collection of poetry and once by a children’s book.

Below I have listed only the winners in adult fiction (First Novel and Novel). For 2006 and forward, I have listed the short lists.

For more information about these awards, go here.

Books I’ve Read are highlighted in Blue; follow the link to my reviews


First Novel:
The Innocents by Francesca Segal – WINNER
The Notable Brain of Maximilian Ponder by J.W. Ironmonger
Snake Ropes by Jess Richards
The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

Novel Award:
Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel – WINNER
Life! Death! Prizes! by Stephen May
The Heart Broke In by James Meek
Days of the Bagnold Summer by Joff Winterhart


First Novel:
Tiny Sunbirds Far Away, by Christie Watson  – WINNER
City of Bohane, by Kevin Barry
The Last Hundred Days, by Patrick McGuinness
Pao, by Kerry Young

Novel Award:
Pure, by Andrew Miller – WINNER
The Sense of an Ending, by Julian Barnes
A Summer of Drowning, by John Burnside
My Dear I Wanted to Tell You, by Louisa Young


First Novel:
Witness the Night, by Kishwar Desai – WINNER
Coconut Unlimited, by Nikesh Shukla
The Temple-Goers, by Aatish Taseer
Not Quite White, by Simon Thirsk

Novel Award:
The Hand That First Held Mine, by Maggie O’Farrell – WINNER
Whatever You Love, by Louise Doughty
The Blasphemer, by Nigel Farndale
Skippy Dies, by Paul Murray


First Novel:
Beauty, by Raphael Selbourne – WINNER
The Finest Type of English Womanhood, by Rachel Heath
John the Revelator, by Peter Murphy
The Girl with Glass Feet, by Ali Shaw

Novel Award:
Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin – WINNER (read my review)
Family Album, by Penelope Lively
Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel (read my review)
The Elephant Keeper, by Christopher Nicholson (read my review)


First Novel:
The Outcast, by Sadie Jones – WINNER (read my review)
Child 44, by Tom Rob Smith
The Behavior of Moths, by Poppy Adams (alternate title: The Sister) (read my review)
Inside the Whale, by Jennie Rooney

Novel Award:
The Secret Scripture, by Sebastian Barry – WINNER (read my review)
The Other Hand (Alternate Title: Little Bee) by Chris Cleave (read my review)
A Partisan’s Daughter, by Louis de Bernieres
Trauma, by Patrick McGrath


First Novel:
What Was Lost, by Catherine O’Flynn – WINNER
A Golden Age, by Tahmima Anam
Gifted, by Nikita Lalwani (read my review)
Mosquito, by Roma Tearne

Novel Award
Day, by A.L. Kennedy – WINNER
Skin Lane, by Neil Bartlett
Death of a Murderer, by Rupert Thomson
The Road Home, by Rose Tremain (read my review)


First Novel
The Tenderness of Wolves, by Stef Penney – WINNER (Read my review)
The Meaning of Night, by Michael Cox
Cloth Girl, by Marilyn Heward Mills
The Amnesia Clinic, by James Scudamore

Novel Award
Restless, by William Boyd – WINNER
Saving Caravaggio, by Neil Griffiths
A Spot of Bother, by Mark Haddon
Black Swan Green, by David Mitchell (read my review)


First Novel
The Harmony Silk Factory, by Tash Aw – WINNER

Novel Award
The Accidental. by Ali Smith – WINNER


First Novel
Eve Green, by Susan Fletcher – WINNER

Novel Award
Small Island, by Andrea Levy – WINNER


First Novel
Vernon God Little, by DBC Pierre – WINNER

Novel Award
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon – WINNER


First Novel
The Song of Names, by Norman Lebrecht – WINNER

Novel Award
Spies, by Michael Frayn – WINNER


First Novel
Something Like A House, by Sid Smit – WINNER

Novel Award
Twelve Bar Blues. by Patrick Neate – WINNER


First Novel
White Teeth, by Zadie Smith – WINNER

Novel Award
English Passengers, by Matthew Kneale – WINNER


First Novel
White City Blue, by Tim Lott – WINNER

Novel Award
Music and Silence, by Rose Tremain – WINNER (read my review)


First Novel
The Last King of Scotland by Giles Foden – WINNER

Novel Award
Leading the Cheers, by Justin Cartwright – WINNER


First Novel
The Ventriloquist’s Tale, by Pauline Melville – WINNER

Novel Award
Quarantine, by Jim Crace – WINNER


First Novel
The Debt to Pleasure, by John Lanchester – WINNER

Novel Award
Every Man for Himself, by Beryl Bainbridge – WINNER


First Novel
Behind the Scenes at the Museum, by Kate Atkinson – WINNER

Novel Award
The Moor’s Last Sigh, by Salman Rushdie – WINNER


First Novel
The Longest Memory, by Fred D’Aguiar – WINNER

Novel Award
Felicia’s Journey, by William Trevor – WINNER


First Novel
Saving Agnes, by Rachel Cusk – WINNER

Novel Award
Theory of War, by Joan Brady – WINNER


First Novel
Swing Hammer Swing! by Jeff Torrington – WINNER

Novel Award
Poor Things, by Alasdair Gray – WINNER


First Novel
Alma Cogan, by Gordon Burn – WINNER

Novel Award
The Queen of the Tambourine, by Jane Gardam – WINNER


First Novel
The Buddha of Suburbia, by Hanif Kureishi – WINNER

Novel Award
Hopeful Monsters, by Nicholas Mosley – WINNER


First Novel
Gerontius, by James Hamilton-Paterson – WINNER

Novel Award
The Chymical Wedding, by Lindsay Clarke – WINNER


First Novel
The Comforts of Madness, by Paul Sayer – WINNER

Novel Award
The Satanic Verses, by Salman Rushdie – WINNER


First Novel
The Other Garden, by Francis Wyndham – WINNER

Novel Award
The Child in Time, by Ian McEwan – WINNER


First Novel
Continent by Jim Crace – WINNER

Novel Award
An Artist of the Floating World, by Kazuo Ishiguro – WINNER


First Novel
Oranges are not the only Fruit, by Jeanette Winterson – WINNER

Novel Award
Hawksmoor, by Peter Ackroyd – WINNER


First Novel
A Parish of Rich Women, by James Buchan – WINNER

Novel Award
Kruger’s Alp, by Christopher Hope – WINNER


First Novel
Flying to Nowhere, by John Fuller – WINNER

Novel Award
Fools of Fortune, by William Trevor – WINNER


First Novel
On the Black Hill, by Bruce Chatwin- WINNER

Novel Award
Young Shoulders, by John Wain – WINNER


First Novel
A Good Man in Africa, by William Boyd – WINNER

Novel Award
Silver’s City, by Maurice Leitch – WINNER


No adult fiction awards


Novel Award
The Old Jest, by Jennifer Johnston – WINNER


Novel Award
Picture Palace, by Paul Theroux – WINNER


Novel Award
Injury Time, by Beryl Bainbridge – WINNER


Novel Award
The Children of Dynmouth, by William Trevor – WINNER


Novel Award
Docherty, by William McIlvanney – WINNER


Novel Award
The Sacred & Profane Love Machine, by Iris Murdoch – WINNER


Novel Award
The Chip Chip Gatherers, by Shiva Naipaul – WINNER


Novel Award
The Bird of Night, by Susan Hill – WINNER


Novel Award
The Destiny Waltz, by Gerda Charles – WINNER

follow us in feedly

Publishers and Authors…

I am no longer accepting review copies of books except for very rare exceptions. Thank you.


Rating System

= Excellent
= Good/Very Good
= Okay read
= Not recommended
= Ugh! Don't waste your time.


Bee Groups


Book Giveaways

None Current.