Return to The Lists

Giller Prize Winners and Finalists: 1994 – Present

Jack Rabinovitch founded The Giller Prize in 1994 to honour the memory of his late wife Doris Giller, an outstanding literary journalist who died of cancer in April 1993.  In 2005, The Giller Prize teamed up with Scotiabank to create The Scotiabank Giller Prize. It is the first ever co-sponsorship for Canada’s richest literary award for fiction. To read more about the Giller Prize, please visit their website.

Books I’ve read are highlighted in Blue; follow the links to my reviews


Hellgoing by Lynn Coady – WINNER
Dennis Bock Going Home Again by Dennis Bock
Cataract City by Craig Davidson
Caught by Lisa Moore
The Crooked Maid by Dan Vyleta


419, by Will Fergusen – WINNER
Inside, by Alix Ohlin
The Imposter Bride, by Nancy Richler
Ru, by Kim Thuy
Whirl Away, by Russell Wangersky


Half-Blood Blues, by Esi  Edugyan – WINNERRead my review
The Free World, by David Bezmozgis
The Antagonist, by Lynn Coady
The Sisters Brothers, by Patrick deWitt
Better Living Through Plastic Explosives, by Zsuzsi Gartner
The Cat’s Table, by Michael Ondaatje


The Sentimentalists, by Johanna Skibsrud – WINNER
The Matter with Morris, by David Bergen
Light Lifting (Short Story Collection), by Alexander MacLeod
This Cake is For the Party (Short Story Collection), by Sarah Selecky
Annabel, by Kathleen Winter


The Bishop’s Man, by Linden MacIntyre – WINNER
The Winter Vault, by Anne Michaels
Fall, by Colin McAdam
The Golden Mean, by Annabel Lyon
The Disappeared, by Kim Echlin


Through Black Spruce, by Joseph Boyden – WINNER
Barnacle Love, by Anthony De Sa
Good To A Fault, by Marina Endicott
Cockroach, by Rawi Hage
The Boys in the Trees, by Mary Swan


Late Nights on Air, by Elizabeth Hay – WINNER
Divisadero, by Michael Ondaatje
A Secret Between Us, by Daniel Poliquin
The Assassin’s Song, by M.G. Vassanji
Effigy, by Alissa York


Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures, by Vincent Lam – WINNER
De Niro’s Game, by Rawi Hage
The Perfect Circle, by Pascale Quiviger
The Immaculate Conception, by Gaetan Soucy
Home Schooling, by Carol Windley


The Time In Between, by David Bergen – WINNER
Luck, by Joan Barfoot
Sweetness, by Camilla Gibb
Alligator, by Lisa Moore
A Wall of Light, by Edeet Ravel


Runaway, by Alice Monroe – WINNER
The Tiger Claw, by Shauna Singh
All That Matters, by Wayson Choy
Beyond Measure, by Pauline Holdstock
Galveston, by Paul Quarrington
A Complicated Kindness, by Miriam Toews


The In-Between World of Vikram Lall, by M.G. Vassanji – WINNER
Oryx and Crake, by Margaret Atwood
The Island Walkers, by John Bemrose
Kilter: 55 Fictions, by John Gould
The Way the Crow Flies, by Ann-Marie MacDonald


The Polished Hoe, by Austin Clarke – WINNER
Mount Appetite, by Bill Gaston
The Navigator of New York, by Wayne Johnston
Open, by Lisa Moore
Unless, by Carol Shields


Clara Callan, by Richard B. Wright – WINNER
The Russlander, by Sandra Birdsell
River Thieves, by Michael Crummey
Martin Sloane, by Michael Redhill
Stanley Park, by Timothy Taylor


Mercy Among the Children, by David Adams Richards – WINNER
Anil’s Ghost, by Michael Ondaatje – WINNER
Burridge Unbound, by Alan Cumyn
A Student of Weather, by Elizabeth Hay
Monkey Beach, by Eden Robinson
The Trade, by Fred Stenson


A Good House, by Bonnie Burnard – WINNER
Pilgrim, by Timothy Findley
Am I Disturbing You, by Anne Hebert
The Mark of the Angel, by Nancy Huston
Summer Gone, by Davi MacFarlane


The Love of a Good Woman, by Alice Munro – WINNER
Childhood, by Andre Alexis
A Recipe for Bees, by Gail Anderson-Dargatz
The White Bone, by Barbara Gowdy
The Healer, by Greg Hollinshead
The Colony of Unrequited Dreams, by Wayne Johnston


Barney’s Vision, by Mordecai Richler – WINNER
The Projectionist, by Michael Helm
Cereus Blooms at Night, by Shani Mootoo
Where She Has Gone, by Nino Ricci
Larry’s Party, by Carol Shields


Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood – WINNERread my review
The Cure for Death by Lightning, by Gail Anderson-Dargatz
Fall on Your Knees, by Ann-Marie MacDonald – read my review
Fugitive Pieces, by Anne Michaels
The Englishman’s Boy, by Guy Vanderhaeghe


A Fine Balance, by Rohinton Mistry – WINNER
The Piano Man’s Daughter, by Timothy Findley
Mister Sandman, by Barbara Gowdy
Like This, by Leo McKay Jr.
The Age of Longing, by Richard B. Wright


The Book of Secrets, by M.G. Vassanji – WINNER
Casino and Other Stories, by Bonnie Burnard
What You Need, by Eliza Clark
Funny Boy, by Shyam Selvadurai
The Museum of Love, by Steve Weiner

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial