Return to The Lists

International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Winners and Finalists: 1996 – Present

The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award is awarded annually. Nominations are made by libraries in capital and major cities throughout the world. Participating libraries can nominate up to three novels each year for the Award. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library. To learn more about this award, go here

Books I’ve Read are Highlighted in Blue; follow the links to my reviews


View the 2013 Long List


City of Bohane by Kevin Barry
The Map and the Territory by Michel Houellebecq
Pure by Andrew Miller
1Q84 by Haruki Murakami
The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka – Read my review
The Tragedy of Arthur by Arthur Phillips
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell – Read my review
From the Mouth of the Whale by Sjón
The Faster I Walk, The Smaller I Am by Kjersti Skomsvold
Caesarion by Tommy Wieringa

View the 2013 Long List


Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor – WINNER
Rocks in the Belly by John Bauer
The Matter with Morris by David Bergen
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
The Memory of Love by Aminatta Forma – read my review
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
Landed by Tim Pears
Limassol by Yishai Sarid
The Eternal Son by Christovao Tezza
Lean on Pete by Willy Vlautin

View the 2012 Long List.


Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann – Read my reviewWINNER
Galore by Michael Crummey – Read my review
The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver
The Vagrants by Yiyun Li
Ransom by David Malouf
Little Bird of Heaven by Joyce Carol Oates
Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey
Brooklyn by Colm Toibín – Read my review
Love and Summer by William Trevor
After the Fire, a Still, Small Voice by Evie Wyld

View the 2011 Long List


The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker (Dutch) in translation – WINNER
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (French) in translation – read my review
In Zodiac Light by Robert Edric
Settlement by Christoph Hein (German) in translation
The Believers by Zoë Heller – read my review
Netherland by Joseph O’Neill – read my review

God’s Own Country by Ross Raisin
Home by Marilynne Robinson

View the 2010 Long List


Man Gone Down, by Michael Thomas – WINNER
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Díaz
Ravel, by Jean Echenoz
The Reluctant Fundamentalist, by Mohsin Hamid – read my review
The Archivist’s Story, by Travis Holland
The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles, by Roy Jacobsen
The Indian Clerk, by David Leavitt
Animal’s People, by Indra Sinha

View the 2009 Long list.


De Niro’s Game, by Rawi Hage – WINNER
The Speed of Light, by Javier Cercas
The Sweet and Simple Kind, by Yasmine Gooneratne
Dreams of Speaking, by Gail Jones
Let It Be Morning,, by Sayed Kashua
The Attack, by Yasmina Khadra
Winterwood, by Patrick McCabe
The Woman Who Waited, by Andrei Makine


Out Stealing Horses, by Per Petterson – WINNER read my review
Shalimar the Clown, by Salman Rushdie
Arthur and George, by Julian Barnes – read my review
A Long Long Way, by Sebastian Barry
Slow Man, by J.M. Coetzee – read my review
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Short Day Dying, by Peter Hobbs
No Country for Old Men, by Cormac McCarthy – read my review


The Master, by Colm Toibin – WINNER
Graceland, by Chris Abani
Maps for Lost Lovers, by Nadeem Aslam
Havoc In Its Third Year, by Ronan Bennett
The Closed Circle, by Jonathan Coe
An Altered Light, by Jens Christian Grondahl
The Swallows of Kabal, by Yasmina Khadra
Breaking the Tongue, by Vyvyane Loh
Don’t Move, by Margaret Mazzantini
The Logogryph, by Thomas Wharton


The Known World, by Edward P. Jones – WINNER
Gardening at Night, by Diane Awerbuck
The Half Brother, by Lars Saabye Christensen
The Good Doctor, by Damon Galgut
Elle, by Douglas Glover
Phantom Pain, by Arnon Grunberg
The Great Fire, by Shirley Hazzard – read my review
Willenbrock, by Christoph Hein
Deafening, by Frances Hani
The Fortress of Solitude, by Jonathan Lethem


This Blinding Absence of Light, by Tahar ben Jelloun – WINNER
The Book of Illusions, by Paul Auster
Any Human Heart, by William Boyd
Caramelo, by Sandra Cisneros
Middlesex, by Jeffrey Eugenides – read my review
The White Family, by Maggie Gee
Balthasar’s Odyssey, by Amin Maalouf
Family Matters, by Rohinton Mistry
Earth and Ashes, by Atiq Rahimi – read my review
House of Day, House of Night, by Olga Tokarczuk


My Name is Red, by Orphan Pamuk – WINNER
The Ash Garden, by Dennis Bock
Bitter Fruit, by Achmat Dangor
The Royal Physician’s Visit, by Per Olov Enquist
The Corrections, by Jonathan Franzen
The Painter of Birds, by Lidia Jorge
That They may Face The Rising Sun, by John McGahern
Bel Canto, by Ann Patchett


Atomised, by Michel Houellebecq – WINNER
The Blind Assassin, by Margaret Atwood – read my review
True History of the Kelly Gang, by Peter Carey
The Keepers of Truth, by Michael Collins
The Last Samurai, by Helen Dewitt
The Years with Laura Diaz, by Carlos Fuentes
Madame, by Antoni Libera


No Great Mischief, by Alistair MacLeod – WINNER
The True History of Paradise, by Margaret Cezair-Thompson
The Love You Promised Me, by Silvia Molina
Our Fathers, by Andrew O’Hagan
The Clay Machine Gun, by Victor Pelevin
The Blackwater Lightship, by Colm Toibin – read my review


Wide Open, by Nicola Barker – WINNER
The Hours, by Michael Cunningham
Trumpet, by Jackie Kay
This Side of Brightness, by Colum McCann
Charming Billy, by Alice McDermott
Paradise, by Toni Morrison
I Married a Communist, by Philip Roth


Ingenious Pain, by Andrew Miller – WINNER
Quarantine, by Jim Crace
Underworld, by Don DeLillo – DNF
The Ordinary Seaman, by Francisco Goldman
Enduring Love, by Ian McEwan
The Wind Up Bird Chronicle, by Haruki Marakumi
The Puttermesser Papers, by Cynthia Ozick
The Reader, by Bernard Schlink – read my review


The Land of Green Plums, by Herta Muller – WINNER
Alias Grace, by Margaret Atwood – read my review
Imaginings of Sand, by Andre Brink
The Counting House, by David Dabydeen
The Glade within the Grove, by David Foster
Autobiography of my Mother, by Jamaica Kindcaid
Salt, by Earl Lovelace
The Pope’s Rhinoceros, by Lawrence Norfolk
Last Orders, by Graham Swift
The Englishman’s Boy, by Guy Vanderhaeghe


A Heart So White, by Javier Marias – WINNER
Reservation Blues, by Sherman Alexie
A Fine Balance, by Rohinton Mistry
Novel Without a Name, by Duong Thu Huong
Declares Pereira, by Antonio Tabucchi
A Tiler’s Afternoon, by Lars Gustaffson
The Good Negress (also published as This Rain Coming), by A.J. Verdelle
Morvern Callar, by Alan Warner


Remembering Babylon, by David Malouf – WINNER
Ghosts, by John Banville
A Way In The World, by V.S. Naipaul
The Following Story, by Cees Noteboom
The Laws, by Connie Paimen
The Gospel According to Jesus Christ, by Jose Saramago
Away, by Jane Urquhart


Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial